Ratings based on 3,720 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Ayrshire Scotland

Nice hotel, comfortable close to central park

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We had a great time, everyone friendly and helpful. We were only across from central park. Only thing i would say, expect to walk a lot or get the bus or subway as the city is a good 70 blocks down if you want to site see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Hotel in Great Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great area. Nice lobby bar & restaurant. Clean rooms, comfortable beds 7 great pillows which makes a difference.
Cons: Provide, Fridges free of charge plus Tea & Coffee making facilities.
Location: Live like a local. no sirens, great choice of restaurants, deli's, close to Central Park and Metro System then this hotel is for you.
This hotel is a little Gem. If you want quiet, great choice of restaurants, local deli's, close to Central Park and the Metro System then this hotel is definitely for you. Only downside you need to know before choosing is they do not have fridges in rooms, fridges on request at a additional daily cost. No tea & coffee provisions either. Reception will provide a kettle, however you need to provide your own Cups, Tea, Coffee & Milk. within walking distance are lots of launderettes where they will wash and fold your washing for US1.00 per pound.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from memphis

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: central location excellent
we had lovely 2 night stay. 100 yds to central park, and minutes from many restaurants. also across the street from Natural history museum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Boozy Brunch in an Okay Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Great location!
Location: It's right near the Museum of Natural History. Many restaurants along Columbus, Amsterdam, and Broadway. Easy subway access via the 1 and C trains.
We stayed here to be close to our friends that live in the Upper West side of the city. The location was great; nice area, near two different subway stops (79th st and 81st), and many restaurants. Hotel staff was nice and held our bags until the room was ready after we checked in a bit early. Inside the hotel is a bar/restaurant, Calle Ocho, with a popular bottomless sangria brunch. The rooms are small and somewhat noisy at night. When other guests go in and out of their rooms and down hallways, it sounds as though they are in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Central Park.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The experience was nice and the hotel staff were very kind. However, the that we stayed in had tape covering a crack in the wall near the window. The bed was not the best but got the job done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are very happy you were pleased with your overall stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Florida

24 Hrs in NYC

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location and quiet
Location: Central Park Museum of Natural History
I thought the location was perfect, across the street from Museum of Natural History, a block from Central Park and close to subway. Was only 2 blocks from multiply restaurants. It was a quiet neighborhood so didn't hear constant traffic at night. Last time we stayed at the Waldorf and listened to horns all night long. The Cuban restaurant was EXCELLENT and I don't care for Cuban food. I'd definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good room for the price; service could be better

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location; room comfort
Cons: Charging for Wi-Fi; poor housekeeping service.
Location: 2 minutes' walk from the subway - also plenty of good delis within a few minutes' walk, so no need to spend the money on the hotel breakfast.
The location is excellent, and the room we had was very good value for the Upper West Side. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the business centre offered a free boarding pass printing facility which was convenient. Two issues - firstly, charging for Wi-Fi. Come on guys, are you stuck in a 2005 timewarp?? Almost all hotels now offer free Wi-Fi, so charging for it doesn't make you look good. That said, if I picked up the free connection in the lobby, most of the time I was able to hang on to it in the room. But please, get with the times and make it free for all. Secondly, the standard of room cleaning was very poor. Our toiletries were not restocked on 2 of the 3 nights, meaning we had to go to reception and ask for shower gel/shampoo. Drinking glasses weren't cleaned or even tidied. In fact, the only thing housekeeping seemed to do was to make the bed and collect their tip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We do offer free WIFI packages when guests book directly on our hotel official website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean rooms!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great location, clean rooms and friendly staff! No water kettle/coffee in the room which is unfortunate. I will definitely come back and recommend it to any tourist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review and ecommendation! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location for Uptown activities

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Comfort and service
Close to Museum of Natural History and Central Park, so that was a plus. The bed was hard and resulted in severe back pain by morning. We stayed over on a Sunday night and found that breakfast service was not available on Monday or Tuesday morning. Hotel did not even provide an urn of coffee for those days when the breakfast room was closed. For me, an automatic disqualifier for future stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location excellent staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Small room. No fridge or coffee. Professional staff. Location very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay.