Ratings based on 3,674 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The staff was great. The hotel took me back to old classic NY. Will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Perfect location. Room was clean. Awesome little gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Great Hotel near Museums, Restaurants and Parks

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: From what we saw and experienced, we loved this hotel!! We appreciated the staff, the cleanliness, and the convenience of the location.
Cons: Nothing that I could note during our visit.
Location: Great location for walking to shops, restaurants, museums, parks (Central Park and Natural History/Planetarium grounds).
From the greeting of the Bell Staff upon arrival to the same accommodating assistance as we checked out, made our stay extremely pleasant and comfortable. The Hotel Concierge service was outstanding. We were provided with the best information for travel to the Hotel from the airport. We were also guided in the best mode of travel to reach the locations we planned to visit during our stay. That made our planned visit completely stress-free!!! The room was absolutely lovely! We were totally delighted. We decided we would book at the Excelsior whenever we returned. We were in the middle of beautiful parks, great restaurants, and grand museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nassau Cty, NY

Great location, terrific hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Great location, near several museums and excellent dining and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Pd for view-didn't get, mnt/scaffold not mentioned

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I paid for room with view, got there and view not available. We were given an "upgrade" to bigger room, but so dark, hardly any light. All windows faced other rooms 10 feet away - no privacy unless shades are drawn, making the room even more dark and gloomy. We asked for a room with a view but they said we would have to pay extra. Isn't that why I paid extra from the beginning?? Staff were pleasant but couldn't help us. Also, renos and scaffolding at front of hotel not mentioned when we booked. Otherwise, location is beautiful - beside Central Park, very close to subway Stn, Starbucks nearby, clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your input is vitally important to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC suburb

Our room was very clean and comfortable.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious by NYC standards, the lighting and cleanliness was exceptional.
Location: The hotel is one block from subway, across from Central Park and within walking distance of several museums. Close to restaurants and bagel shops.
Very nice experience, the only downside was the extra charge for WiFi in rooms above 2nd floor. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Your input is very important to us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Safe

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Great area for family stay. Easy walking to food, museums and park. Only minor inconvenience was a slow shower drain. No view from room 700 but no worries once out and about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and feedback are very important to us. We are happy you were pleased with your stay overall. Hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turks & Caicos

Great location. Close to Central Park and museums

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Decent room for the price. Beds are comfy. Shame there isn't a fridge, coffee maker and WiFi in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome place to stay

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: expedia
Cons: fridge in room free wifi in room
Location: Central Park, Restaurants and Grocery Stores, Museums
I loved everything about it (the closeness to public transportation, Central Park, Museums, restaurants, away from the loud part of the city, etc. The ONLY downsides were 1) no fridge in the room and 2) wifi is only free in parts of the building. Neither of those things were enough to make us stay elsewhere next time, though. Will keep coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input is vitally important to us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Great facility, great staff, great location!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The staff was welcoming and helpful, the room was clean, orderly and well cared for. The location was right near Central Park and a subway stop. Very pleased!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are so glad you were pleased with your stay!