Ratings based on 2,387 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great stay in a great location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Loved the suite and the neighbourhood. The hotel was perfect for us close to the subway and Central Park and great for lots of walking. We did miss having coffee in our room but overall the staff was so helpful and the lobby was decorated so nicely for Christmas and we would stay here again for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are happy you were pleased with your overall stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice neighborhood

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Very close to Central Park. Nice older neighborhood - upper west side.
Cons: A "no-honking" ordinance for traffic sure would improve the ambience. Does honking the horn ever get these drivers closer to their destination?
Location: Great food at the Milling Room just around the corner. Museum of Natural History across the street. Hotel is only one block away from Central Park.
Nice older hotel close to Central Park. Several nice restaurants and bars close by. Walking distance (about 40 blocks) to Columbus Circle and Times Square. Very pleasant and helpful doormen and concierges. However, desk staff acted cold and indifferent. Water and coffee in the lobby would have been a nice touch, but sadly not offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are happy you were pleased with your overall stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great hotel on upper west side

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Location: Museums, park, restaurants
Nice hotel in great location. Hotel was very nice, a bit European in style (eg, old whorls charm vs modern luxury). Had a basic queen room which was a very decent size for NYC. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was nice, everything wa in good condition and very clean. Great location if you want to be away from the craziness of Times Square. Right next door to Natural History Museum, and straight across the park from the Met.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Nice hotel. Quiet area but close to the subway

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Situated a 2 minute walk from subway. Only a block away from plenty of nice bars and restaurants.i would reccomend as the hotels location is excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW

Older Hotel in Prime Location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Friendly staff. Fitness Room. Breakfast room. Handsome lobby and elevator. Relatively spacious rooms, comfortable beds.
Cons: Easy chairs were worn and stained and need to be re-covered. The metal pulls on the blinds were twisted and were pulling out of the wall.
Location: Close to the Museum of Natural History, and a short bus ride from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
The hotel has been carefully updated, while preserving its period charm. We had a very pretty room with easy chairs, lots of hanging and drawer space, complimentary terry robes and even an umbrella.. The bathroom had a powerful shower, a strong flushing mechanism on the toilet, and consistent water temperature and flow, things sometimes missing in older buildings. The staff was efficient and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are happy you were pleased with your overall stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Comfortable beds, large rooms, good location. Nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet but convenient beautiful gem

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Suite room was perfect - spacious, quiet, and comfortable. View out the window terrific. Staff was accommodating. Lobby is beautiful and nicely decorated for the holiday season. For me, the only thing missing was morning coffee in the lobby/2nd floor area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sutton surrey

nice hotel very near the park

Posted Dec 8, 2017
quite hotel away from the hustle and bustle of city life but only thirty minute walk from times square
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great location, clean and great staff. Very comfortable accommodations. Loved everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff-especially Scott!

Posted Dec 8, 2017
After arriving in the pouring rain, Scott greeted us at the front desk. He was professional, warm and funny,. I have stayed at the Excelsior before. It is a great hotel. This time the room next to is was under construction and work didn't start until 9:00 but it was very loud. Other than that, it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and choosing The Excelsior one more time. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us. We are happy you were pleased with your overall stay. We hope to see you back again.