Ratings based on 3,683 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Proper Boutique Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: My favourite thing about staying at the Excelsior is its location on the Upper West Side, across the street from AMNH and Central Park.
Cons: I was a bit surprised to see that they charged for WiFi. It's the first time in a while, and in several countries, that I've been charged for internet
Location: As mentioned above, the Excelsior's across the street from the Natural History museum and half a block from Central Park with the Met and Museum Row.
I began staying at the Excelsior when I worked at the American Museum of Natural History, across the street. It was originally the convenience that drew me there, but now I stay there whenever I visit Manhattan, no matter where in the city I'm spending my time. My last visit had me upgraded to an exceptionally nice suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Excellent Hotel, Great Location!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect! Comfortable, clean, quiet rooms.
Cons: Free wi-fi in the rooms would be very helpful.
Location: Close to Central Park & the Museum of Natural History.
The Excelsior Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable hotel. The staff was friendly and so helpful! The only thing we would have liked is a discounted breakfast and free wi-fi in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wayne, Pa

Amazing location, big space for a great price!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The location is perfect, with direct access to Central Park, a major subway stop super close and great shopping close by. The hotel offered a lot of room and the restaurant, although busy and loud, was pretty yummy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything I needed was there, great location, clean.
Cons: Don't put travel groups which congregate in the hall and speak loudly late at night on the same floor with single business travelers. Upgrade rooms!
Location: Great location! Central Park, Natural History Museum, Upper West Side street life.
Bit dated rooms but generally good experience. Number of elevators can be a drag during rush hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: It's the location!!!!!
Cons: Be nice to have room service. TV is cheap and not a great selection and very pricey rentals. I had a sick kid one day and TV options were tough.
Location: perfect location! Museums, parks, great bars and food. Near subways
I've come here for years, I love the location. There's always construction right outside though... very odd. I wish they did a little more on in room coffee or offer room service or more modern hotel services., but it's a great area in city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The staff was great. The hotel took me back to old classic NY. Will come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Perfect location. Room was clean. Awesome little gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Great Hotel near Museums, Restaurants and Parks

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: From what we saw and experienced, we loved this hotel!! We appreciated the staff, the cleanliness, and the convenience of the location.
Cons: Nothing that I could note during our visit.
Location: Great location for walking to shops, restaurants, museums, parks (Central Park and Natural History/Planetarium grounds).
From the greeting of the Bell Staff upon arrival to the same accommodating assistance as we checked out, made our stay extremely pleasant and comfortable. The Hotel Concierge service was outstanding. We were provided with the best information for travel to the Hotel from the airport. We were also guided in the best mode of travel to reach the locations we planned to visit during our stay. That made our planned visit completely stress-free!!! The room was absolutely lovely! We were totally delighted. We decided we would book at the Excelsior whenever we returned. We were in the middle of beautiful parks, great restaurants, and grand museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nassau Cty, NY

Great location, terrific hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Great location, near several museums and excellent dining and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very happy you were so pleased with your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Pd for view-didn't get, mnt/scaffold not mentioned

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I paid for room with view, got there and view not available. We were given an "upgrade" to bigger room, but so dark, hardly any light. All windows faced other rooms 10 feet away - no privacy unless shades are drawn, making the room even more dark and gloomy. We asked for a room with a view but they said we would have to pay extra. Isn't that why I paid extra from the beginning?? Staff were pleasant but couldn't help us. Also, renos and scaffolding at front of hotel not mentioned when we booked. Otherwise, location is beautiful - beside Central Park, very close to subway Stn, Starbucks nearby, clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Excelsior Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your input is vitally important to us.