Ratings based on 6,568 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Virginia

Perfect location.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Staff was friendly, the room was spacious and clean. Just what I wanted
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Disappointing, dingy and way overpriced!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Really disappointing overall condition! It was dingy and old with a shotty, minimal renovation. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. The hot water even went out one night. So overpriced! We paid almost $350 per night and it was worth maybe $150. On the bright side, it has a good location and the hotel staff is nice (but you had to ask for things multiple times to actually get it).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
My room might be close to some AC unit. It's so noisy inside, like sitting in a airplane. I didn't have a good night of sleep there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in great neighborhood

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We did our homework and knew what to expect when we booked this hotel. Some of the reviews were negative, most were positive. For what we paid per night in Manhattan in an excellent location, we were very pleased! We stayed in Room 205 and loved our room. It was very clean and comfortable. Staff was super friendly and responsive. Yes, the road was noisy, we looked out to Broadway. But, hey, it's NYC! I took my wireless headphones, paired them to my sound machine app and slept like a baby every night. Also, for those of us who have lived in older homes we know things aren't always perfect. Our shower knob wasn't working and they sent a maintenance man up right away to fix it. If you want a hotel with a bar/restaurant you will just need to spend more money! This hotel was an excellent value and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and great staff

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: comfy
Cons: i would like there to be water available in the lobby and also hot tea at all times.
Location: shops are great, and the restaurants are amazing.
lovely hotel. love the ambience there. rooms are really cute and there is a nice little gym. I love how they keep umbrellas there in the lobby and in your room, so you never have to pack one in your suitcase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place if you have young kids.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Location: Great location, Restaurants/Bagel shops/Grocery stores, shopping & many parks near by. Great for small children. Natural History Museum 3Blks away!!!
2 Adults 2 children (one in a crib). Tight fit, but everything under $500 a night is small in NYC. Window Air Conditioning was loud at night (like every other hotel/apartment in the city) not the fault of the hotel. A $1000 a night will get you a quiet room ... Its NYC so there are noises all night long, kids slept through all of it. Lots of local parks where you can hang with the local nanny's. Grocery Store on the first floor, had to take everything out of the mini-bar to fill with baby stuff. Previously stayed at the Beacon Hotel (on someone else dime). Bigger rooms and Kitchenette, but you paid big bucks for that. Close to Subway, shopping and food, no need to ever go near Time Square or other tourist areas. Amsterdam & Columbus streets just a block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Good upper west side hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Double glazing for rooms on Broadway
Location: Convenient for metro and Central Park
Had an eight night stay here at end of August/beginning of September. Convenient for R line on metro and close to Central Park. Rooms overlooking Broadway are noisy so we asked to move and were given a much quieter room looking out towards Hudson River. Good breakfast stall in foyer. Enjoyed our stay but would recommend rooms looking West.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alcoa, TN

Very pleased

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Building a bit aged, but well-maintained.
Location: Near our daughter, Central Park, dining.
Very helpful and courteous staff, comfortable room, excellent location. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I got a free upgrade to a wonderful king size room, very spacious with a great view of a beautiful church across the street. Good shower, but the shower door didn't seal completely so there was a lot of water on the bathroom floor the first time I used it. I was more careful after that and managed to avoid the leaking. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was helpful, unloading my luggage from the taxi when I arrived and offering free luggage storage for a few hours the day I checked out. There is a great coffee shop in the lobby with espresso drinks and fresh pastries. Great location and only two short blocks from the subway. Highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Good proximity to the metro service and friendly staff
Cons: A/C units need modernising
The A/C units both in our room and in adjacent rooms are appalling noisy and old. It was difficult to get a sound night's sleep under these conditions