Ratings based on 6,181 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach

Perfectly situated hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017
I stayed here while attending a conference at Columbia. It was a quick 10 subway ride to the university. Going the opposite direction, it was a 10 minute ride to Times Square. The location is loaded with restaurants, shops, and Central Park is just a few blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect location, great hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, location
Cons: Quieter AC unit. That's seriously the only thing.
Location: Perfect location. On the 1 line and close to other lines. Walking distance to Central Park, Natural History Mus., and many food and drinking options.
The NYLO has a perfect location in NYC, especially if you're attending something at Columbia like the Reading Institute at Teachers College. The room was fairly spacious for a NYC hotel and very clean. The staff were so friendly all the time. The only thing that might take a point off is the very loud AC unit in the room. It did work very, very well, but it was just a bit loud. Didn't really bother me as I wasn't in my room much and I had ear plugs to use while sleeping which I wear in every hotel I go to. For the amenities and the location that the NYLO offers it is very affordable. I will DEFINITELY be staying at the NYLO again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a nice and quiet area.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Lobby entrance and the bar area are awesome. Live music on Thursdays and Fridays surprised us and we spent two great evenings enjoying wine and music
Cons: The view from the room was to the brick wall of the neighboring building.
Location: Just a block away from metro station and few blocks away from Central park and Museum of Natural History. A lot of great restaurants nearby.
We stayed 5 nights and had a great time. Friendly staff, always wiling to assist (special thanks to Jennifer). We could not select better hotel for our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
She didn't know I am VIP Expedia customer and she did not offer me VIP amenities. I reminded her and I don't know what I received or not
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
It is a stylish well located hotel. Staff are gentle, helful, and cool. The sorroubdings qre nice and is easy and safe to move around if you like walking. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: location
Location: Close to museums and Central Park
While the hotel itself was nice, I am very unhappy about the "urban" fee that we had to pay even though the amenities that the fee covers we did not use. I would gladly pay for items that I took advantage of but $27 per day for nothing I believe is excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Very Pleased

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Location: Walked to the Folk Art Museum (really interesting) and the New York Historical Society (fabulous with a very good restaurant to add to the pleasure).
This hotel is set in a wonderful, vibrant part of Manhattan. It is well cared for and the environment is very friendly. I would definitely recommend to family or friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EASTERN OREGON

New York visit at its finest!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The hotel was friendly, had a managed computer for checking in with airlines, the rooms were very clean and there is a balcony on the 16th floor.
Cons: Coffee in the lobby!
Location: The restaurants nearby were less tourist, more locals and the food was amazing. We located at this hotel to visit the Am Museum of Natural History
We loved the NYLO hotel..we had 4 in a Queen suite and it was an amazing room with plenty of space to move around. They were kind enough to let us check in in the morning when we arrived instead of making us wait until 4 and we were on our way to adventure as soon as we arrived. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. There was some walking involved in our NY adventure, but so worth it to be away from the crowds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice neighborhood, nice hotel, a room with room

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Location: I love this neighborhood!
We didn't access too many of the amenities in the lobby at the site, but appreciated the great bed, the small refrigerator they offered, and the cleaniness of the room and bath. The space was a luxury and it was the quiet. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Upper West Side Style

Posted Jul 21, 2017
We stayed at NYLO for a combination of work and fun. The vibe there was conducive to both. Great lobby area with bar, nice clean modern rooms. Small rooms, but that's to be expected in NY. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again in a minute (and I'm a pretty tough customer)!