Ratings based on 5,134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal Location in Real NY Neighborhood

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Subway close by; taxis easily available any time. Four blocks from Central Park and Natural History Museum. Tons of excellent restaurants and shopping. Front desk staff personable and kind. Lobby has a few cozy spots to sit but it’s a very popular and loud bar and nightspot. Room decor hip and sleek but wish they had some rugs or a little carpeting, especially in winter. We’ll be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Didn’t think it was appropriate to have air conditioning blasting at 59 degrees when returning to our room. If hotel staff is hot while making up room, don’t forget to turn it off or at least a decent temperature. Having room at 59 in the dead of winter wasn’t very amusing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Toilet broke, shower broke, no bottled water or tv remote in the room. The cherry on top was the extremely rude lady working behind the counter when we were checking out. Was offered a full refund and it’s been a month and I still haven’t gotten it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Connie W., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Your bathroom should have been in proper working order. I apologize too for the lack of bottled water or a TV remote in your room. These oversights are unacceptable, and I regret that we let you down. I understand you weren't fully satisfied and that our team should have done more to make you more comfortable. Please know we are at your service and will absolutely make this right should you wish to connect with the details of your reservation. Warm regards, Connie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 3-star hotel at best.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
The resort fee of $40 per night gets you a warm glass of cava, wifi that is so slow you have to disable it to use Yelp!, and all the free water you want. WOW! What a deal. Numerous other small issues make it clear that The NYLO is basically a 3-star Holiday Inn with delusions of grandeur.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Connie W., Hotel Management
Dear David, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We certainly understand your frustration, but please know that we try to offer our guests more value by including WiFi, bottled water, and other services in the urban fee rather than charging incremental fees that tend to add up. How could we have made your stay better? We would love to have the chance to earn your respect. Warm regards, Connie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Very disappointing stay

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The attitude of the staff, the cleaning, the plumbing
I arrived late at night to a room with dirty bathroom and a toilet which obviously not cleaned. When I complained to the from desk they were not impressed and just said they would inform housekeeping. The room did not have a desk or a chair, even though the description at Expedia includes a desk, so it was impossible to work. I woke up at 6 am due to loud noise of old plumbing from someone taking a shower at the adjacent room. I would definitely not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Connie W., Hotel Management
Dear Hani, I'm so sorry for the condition you found your room. It should have been thoroughly cleaned and inspected prior to your arrival. We should have done more to make you comfortable and should have rectified the issue immediately. I’m reviewing your notes with the team so we will be more efficient and receptive going forward. I understand that you were expecting a desk to do your work as well, and I regret that you were disappointed. We hope to have the opportunity to make this right and would be grateful to welcome you back to a pristine room, as you rightfully expected. Warm regards, Connie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moore, OK

Great place upper Westside easy access to everythi

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Super easy to travel anywhere from this hotel. Quick taxi ride to downtown where all the action is. A few blocks to the museum of Natural history and if you like to walk, you can go right through Central park to the MET. The staff were great and hooked us up with transportation to the airport($60 with tip to LGA) We saw the parade which started 5 blocks away. Balloons line up on 74th and NYLO is on 77th and Broadway. The hotel is next to 2 great restaurants Serafina(Italian) and Red Farm(Asian/Sushi) They are both great but if not from NY expect to pay much higher prices for food anywhere. Just the way it is. Towels were changed every day, bed made, only complaint would be they need to turn the mattress since my side sunk in quite a bit and I am not very heavy. Otherwise It was a fun trendy hotel. ***Ice is on the 3rd floor, CVS across the street for snacks or things you forgot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

We have stayed at the NYLO many times.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Location: Great location; close to the Museum of Natural History and a quick cab ride across the park to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Also close to Fairway.
This stay wasn't the best. Our room was very cold and took a long time to warm up. The drain in the shower was pulled out. Our TV did not work well at all. We did mention all of these things at check out and we will receive a free upgrade the next time we stay there. That is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethel, CT

Nice hotel with interesting decor

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Interesting decor, clean, in room coffee
Cons: better lighting, consistent wifi
Location: Amsterdam Ale House was good for dinner
Stayed here for one night with my husband after doing some exhibits at the NY Historical Society. Very convenient to that museum and the natural history museum. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with contemporary decor and plenty spacious. The lighting in the room was a bit low though and we had trouble getting enough light to read well, even with all the lights on. Nice big TV and Keurig coffee maker in the room. They gave us tickets for complimentary drinks at the bar which was nice. Supposed to have free wifi but we had difficulty signing on until the morning. We could have pursued it with the front desk but chose not to. We didn't end up going to the hotel bar but they had music playing and it looked very lively as we passed through. They have a free workout room which we didn't get a chance to check out. Convenient to plenty of good restaurants. We went to Amsterdam Ale House, which is less than a block away. Plenty of good beers on tap and good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very small room. Tiny beds.

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff. Good bar.
Cons: I don't think they can do anything about the room sizes.
Location: The Beacon Theater is very close, so are a lot of other interesting places.
The room we got was tiny. The beds were tiny. You can't sleep two people in one of those beds. They advertised as a room that could accommodate 3 people, but it was so small, we could hardly walk around without bumping into each other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Good time.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We had a great time. No complaints nothing more to add.