Ratings based on 1,995 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a good location for exploring New York

Posted Sep 21, 2017
We stayed a week spending the days out exploring New York so did not spend a great deal of time in the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room a nice and clean. A good quiet location in a busy city and near Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

A Gem in the Upper West Side

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The Milburn is a beautiful small hotel withbeautiful huge rooms! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations to make it even better. If I could, I would live here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Palisades, CA

Good NYC hotel, great location!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great location, quiet street, close to subway and buses and there's a large market just a block away. Great restauants innthe neighborhood. Our room was clean and well appointed. Bed was very comfortable. Bath was tiny but clean and very cleverly designed! There was construction going on, but they didnt start til after nine and we were out or on the way, so it didnt bother us at all. Staff was friendly and efficiently. We spent a week there and I'd gladly stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Mostly good stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable. Great location. No street or traffic noise.
Cons: Cleanliness of the shower!
Location: Just a few blocks away from the 72nd street stop for the 1-2-3 lines.
Overall, we had a good stay (although we didn't spend a lot of time in the room); we stayed two nights. The front desk staff was pretty nice, especially for New York standards. The room was a decent size, and the bed was comfortable--and I prefer a soft bed. The one issue I had was with the cleanliness--the room and bathroom seemed clean, but then I found what was probably the maid's long hair on the bathroom wall, in addition to a few pieces of what appeared to be beard clippings. I told the front desk and asked specifically for the shower to be thoroughly cleaned, but when we returned to the room later, the long hair was still on the wall. Gross! Also, the sink didn't drain well at all. There was plenty of hot water, though. Aside from the shower issue, the hotel was fine. The location is fantastic--just a couple blocks from the 1-2-3 line.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Nice historic hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This hotel has everything going for it, spacious rooms, excellent staff and great location. It is just a little dated and in need of a renovation. I think some work is being done and then it will be perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
It's a good place to stay if you need a convenient location. UWS is great! The hallways smell like smoke from 60 years ago- but the rooms don't have the smoke smell. So it's worth it for the price. Staff was really nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Israel

Well-appointed hotel in a convenient area

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly, efficient staff. Nicely appointed room. Good location.
Location: Heart of the Upper West Side of Manhattan, NY. Close to an express subway stop - next stop Times Square and theater. Good shopping & dining.
We booked the Milburn to be close to family and for the convenience of the Upper West Side. We were travelling with 2 children and had food and other restrictions. I was pleasantly surprised when, expecting a large double room with a fridge and microwave I found myself in a suite with bedroom, living room with pull-out couch and a table big enough for the 4 of us to have a family meal. The fridge and microwave were set with a sink in an alcove which included storage set up like a kitchen. For us this was an ideal setup. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, all the way up until we checked out in the morning, stored our luggage and requested some assistance in the early evening after retrieving our luggage, while awaiting a taxi to the airport. The hotel has a small gym and, according to their ad, access to a local pool as well. They have no dining room but provided us with some discount coupons to a nearby restaurant for breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel, in particular to families travelling with up to 2 children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PHILIPPINES

A PLEASANT STAY AT THE MILBURN FOR US OPEN

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: THE MILBURN IS EXACTLY WHAT WE WISHED FOR - BIG ROOM - BIG BED - ROUND TABLE AND CHAIRS VERY CLEAN - GOOD AMENITIES -FRIDGE - MICROWAVE & KETTLE - GO
Cons: (A TOASTER & GLASSWARE WOULD MAKE IT PERFECT)
Location: NEAR TO A FAIRWAY SUPERMARKET AND 5 MIN TO # 72 METRO STATION - & 3 BLOCKS FROM CENTRAL PARK,. PLENTY RESTAURANTS CLOSE BY..
THE MILBURN IS EXACTLY WHAT WE WISHED FOR - BIG ROOM - BIG BED - ROUND TABLE AND CHAIRS VERY CLEAN - GOOD AMENITIES -FRIDGE - MICROWAVE & KETTLE - GOOD CROCKERY FOR TWO. (A TOASTER & GLASSWARE WOULD MAKE IT PERFECT) ALSO HAD IRON AND BOARD + WALL SAFE. NEAR TO A FAIRWAY SUPERMARKET AND 5 MIN TO # 72 METRO STATION - & 3 BLOCKS FROM CENTRAL PARK. WIFI - FREE AND REASONABLE SPEED. ONLY DOWNSIDE WAS THE BATHROOM WAS SMALL OR AS THEY SAY COMPACT!! WE HAVE NO HESITATION IN STAYING THERE AGAIN AND HAVE NO PROBLEM RECOMMENDING IT TO COUPLES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Very nice hotel. Pleasant staff, great location. Perfect for families. We were very pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East, UK

Good location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Quieter location
Cons: Bathrooms
Location was good in a quieter neighbourhood but only a short walk to subway, shops, restaurants. Central park about a 15 minutes walk away. Overall room was clean but the bathroom was impractically small and needed ripping out completely as made you feel dirty. The restoration elsewhere in the hotel (which did not bother us from a noise perspective) kept sending building dust through vent in bathroom covering the toilet area.