Ratings based on 1,946 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything was good
Location: Close to subway and restaurants.
Great location. Room was a good size and clean. The view out the window wasn't much to talk about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always try to stay here

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Milburn never disappoints. I've stayed here several times. The location is perfect. A few blocks from a real grocery store. A few blocks from the 1 2 3 train
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely throwback to elegant days in NYC.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The location is great. The style and grace make this a memorable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem, Israel

Excellent Location.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Location: Lots of restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, drugstores, cleaners, etc. Near the 1,2, and 3 subway lines, buses and easy to get to Broadway..
The hotel appears to have been renovated fairly recently. We were upgraded from a king to a suite without requesting it. The living room and bedroom were both large and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and kitchenette, however, were tiny. Only one person at a time could fit in those rooms. The shower was terrible - no water pressure at all. We weren't staying long so we didn't complain about the water pressure. Could be it was intentional (water conservation mechanism) but it really was inadequate for a good shower. Otherwise, I would highly recommend the hotel for its central location, overall comfort and cleanliness and pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Hampton

Great service, great location.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Cons: I am an interior designer and would love to see more more simple, sophisticated design, but currently nothing offensive, just dated.
Location: Great local NYC gyms nearby.(Equinox, NY Sports Club) Great prepared foods for that relaxing meal in your room (Fairway, West Side Market, Zabars)
For a hotel with such reasonable rates it is a very convenient location for getting around the West side of Manhattan and also provides extremely courteous staff. It is also very convenient to get over to the Upper East Side by taxi or bus. I also like it that you are in a New York neighborhood with lots of local clothing and food shops, some of NY's best in fact. If you want a good gym workout there are several local NYC gyms close by. Perhaps the front desk can arrange something for you. You will not be overwhelmed by the frantic tourist or business scene at this location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I stayed for two nights, and the thermostat was really confusing to use, the room stayed cold for the first night and the wifi service was turned off for maintenance for the second night, the rooms could be cleaner and the furniture was dated. The fire/carbon monoxide alarm kept going off in the middle of the night also which made sleeping very difdicult. I would not stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Great hotel away from the major thoroughfares

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Polite and knowledgeable staff Large rooms Clean and tidy Peaceful location
Cons: No changes needed, why spoil a little gem
Location: Quiet area, Transport links within 200 metres Central park just a 5 minute walk away Shops just around corner for everyday needs
Great hotel and staff, we didn't arrive until late due to flights but staff were at the desk and everything was ready fir us so we could get straight to our room for some rest. Room itself was wonderful, large bed and plenty of space to move around. Numerous chairs in the room for relaxing rather than just being on the bed and the bonus of a small kitchenette so we could have breakfast inthe room rather than going to expensive cafes all the time. Bathroom was compact but perfectly adequate for daily needs and housekeeping did a wonderful job each day of keeping the room clean and fresh. Front desk staff were polite and knowledgeable as were the door men. Although the hotel was away from the major sightseeing areas the subway was just at the end of the street on Broadway and if you wanted some peace during the day central park was just 2 blocks away (5 minute walk) Would I stay here again if visiting New York, definitely. Why pay through the nose for a hotel in the centre of the tourist area which would mean noise 24 hours a day when you can have peace and comfort fora fraction of the price just short subway ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
My stay at the hotel was great. The place was relatively affordable. Location was perfect. Near central park, the subway station and great restaurants. When I come back to New York, I will definitely look up this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Very nice

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Location: Very good location. Just a block and a half away from the best grocery store in the city, Fairway.
Just one night at this old New York hotel on the upper west side. They upgraded me to a suite. I like older hotels, especially if they are kept up nicely. The only criticism would be that they had plastic cups instead of glasses in the room, which is just a pet peeve of mine. Too much plastic in the world and the hotel was so nice it really called for real glasses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 26, 2017
Location: Really good for Central Park & Lincoln Centre.
Very friendly and helpful & welcoming staff. King suite was very good size & comfortable. Very quiet street which was unexpected in New York & meant we had very restful sleep. Bath tub was wonderful even though bathroom was small.