Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

would stay there again the langlord was very nice and always there to give advise

Posted Nov 14, 2011
really good location especially for ny marathon finish there was no breakfast but we had our own kitchen and was a nice place very homely , and the manager was always there and give us lots of advise he was so friendy and we will go back to stay for sure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Funky studio in great location

Posted Oct 14, 2011
This is not a hotel, although I found it by searching for hotels on Expedia. It is not a B&B either, in the sense that there is no breakfast. It is a studio apartment in a brownstone that is let out by the landlord - whom we did not meet because he was out of town. Instead, we knocked on the super's widow and he passed us out the key. The apartment is more run-down that it appears in the pictures. The bathroom and furniture have seen better days. It is acceptably clean if you don't look too closely in the corners. There are parquet floors and impressive Victorian woodwork. There is a surprisingly well-equipped kitchenette that even has a little dishwasher. The spiral staircase to the loft bed is sturdy, but it takes some agility to climb out if you need to get up in the middle of the night! The location can't be beat. Just blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. Zabars and other West Side delights are right in the neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by Diarmuid from Stafford, UK

Have realistic expectations

Posted Sep 16, 2011
This not a bed and breakfast - some staples are provided with a fully kitted kitchen and easy access to some top-class deli food including the iconic Zabar's on Broadway at 80th. It is a very convenient location, pretty much across the road from the Museum of Natural History, a block from the subway, with the 79 cross town bus on the doorstep. It is expensive for what you get - you get the room and the key and after that are left to your own devices: there is no effective service, which may suit some. It seems amateurish - but the owner is very pleasant if somewhat surprised by guests turning up expecting their room to be ready. The bathroom is very tired. It is interesting to see all the period detail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester, Ma

Hot on the west side

Posted Jun 1, 2011
Arrived at the brownstone and had no difficulty cotacting the owner. Moved our bags into the unit and noted that the weather had warmed up-summer had returned. Was told that an air conditioning unit waqs to be placed into the window either today or tommorrow. We were told that a fan would be delivered but it never came. The loft bed of couse was totally uninhabitable but luckilly there was an air matress in the main room which we utilized sleeping beneath the ceiling fan. The owner left us a message after we checked out apologizing but at Mannhattan rates one expects more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent bed and breakfast

Posted May 15, 2011 on Hotels
Although the Upper West Side Brownstone is listed on hotels.com, it is actually a bed and breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay, but be aware of a few items when booking this b&b: 1) the 'full breakfast' is not provided - instead, there is an excellent small kitchen where you can do all of your own cooking, and coffee is provided but not other breakfast foods, and 2) although hotels.com will send you an email saying your reservation is confirmed, you must call the landlord and indicate what time you are arriving. The Upper West Side brownstone is a very attractive apartment in a residential building, but you will need to meet with the landlord in order to receive a key to the building and room. Besides those two issues, I felt the apartment was a good value in an excellent neighbourhood, and the apartment had a lot of character with a cool spiral staircase up to the bed. The Museum of Natural History is literally across the street, with the Hayden Planetarium entrance just across from the crosswalk and the main entrance down the block and around the corner. There is an Uno restaurant right at the corner of the block and several other restaurants and groceries nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2010 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dan Bibac

True NY feeling

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels
My whife, daugter and I stayed att The Browstone bed and no breakfast for 10 nights. Besides the perfect location for museums, siteseeing and ocasional run in Central Park we got to experience staying in a typical and beautifull New York hose. The appartments are clean and stocked with everything you might need for kooking and servig food. The beds are good and the bathrooms spacios. We got to know the houst, Alec and foud him very charming and willing to help. My family and I definitly recommend this place and we will return here! DB
3 out of 5
by A. CHALAMET

Bien placé, hôte accueillant, mais..

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels
Nous avons réservé ce studio (et non hôtel comme nous le croyions) 1 semaine avant d'arriver à New York, suite à des ennuis avec un loueur. Notre hôte a été très serviable, plein d'humour,très accueillant, il nous a attendus jusqu'à 10h du soir, ce qui n'était pas du tout prévu. Son studio est très bien situé ( métros, bus, musées, commerces...), très bien équipé pour le téléphone et la WiFi, mais... malgré son cachet dû à son âge, il est très sombre (situé au niveau du perron, derrière des barreaux), tout n'est pas très propre, et nous avons payé très cher par rapport aux hôtels que nous avons loués tout au long de notre séjour aux US.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vantaa, FINLAND

Kevätmatka Upper West Side Brownstone

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels
Hotelli on oikeastaan asuinhuoneisto, jossa oli parvella pari nukkumapaikkaa. Toiset kaksi luvattua nukkumapaikkaa olivat sohvasta vedetyssä sängyssä, mikä oli välttävä. Asunto sijaitsi oman matkamme kannalta ihanteellisessa paikassa: pari metroasemaa lähellä, Central Park vieressä ja lyhyt matka lähes kaikkiin NYC:n Highlight-kohteisiin. Isäntä oli ystävällinen. Huoneiston siisteydessä olisi parantamista, mutta sisustus sinänsä oli mielenkiintoinen ja mukava.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Lägenhet i lugnt kvarter

Posted Dec 24, 2011 on Hotels
Snarare än ett hotell är detta en separat lägenhet i ett viktorianskt privathus bestående av ett stort rum med soffgrupp, sovloft och ett mycket välutrustat barkök. Vi tyckte om läget i lugnt kvarter nära Central Park och nära en ytterst välsorterad livsmedel/delikatessaffär som värden tipsade om. MEN det är viktigt att få namn och telefon till värden för att komma överens om ankomsttid – vi höll på att inte komma in eftersom vi inte visste om det.