Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

It gave us everything we needed

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Very inexpensive; very welcoming; very helpful.
Cons: Well, you have to pay for the car parking because it doesn't belong to the hotel. But it's there and you get 24 hours once you've paid your £10.
Location: Very central: shopping; the river; the stunning Cathedral; parks; a great variety of places to eat (but not late at night!)
We arrived in the small hours, tired after a long journey, but everything was made very easy for us: car parking right under the hotel, a good welcome, all questions answered, rooms exactly as we had hoped. A beautiful breakfast with a vast range of food, whether you wanted to remain English or become Swedish. The hotel is very well situated for the centre of town, both the shops and the interesting places. No hassle about our not being quite out of the rooms by the required deadline. Lovely, helpful cleaners. Much recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very expensive, does not justify price

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Internet. Breakfast Area. An ironing board in the room please. Put double beds in the 'room with double bed' rooms.
Location: Close to centre of Uppsala.
Slow internet. I couldn't do any work through it, and had to give up. Shared ironing board for the floor, you do not get one in your room. Rooms are spartan with very little furniture. Chair for desk was very uncomfortable - luckily the internet connection was so slow that I didn't have to sit in it very long. Most expensive hotel in Uppsala, so I expected much more. Was very disappointed. Will never use again if I have a choice. Expected a double bed, but since the hotel was fully booked and this was the only room I could book in Uppsala I stuck it out. There isn't enough space downstairs for seating at breakfast so you have to share tables and eat in the reception. If you can get up late and wait till everyone has left for work then you'll probably not notice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, located centrally

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful. When we asked for fresh milk to go with our tea. they happily provided it for free. The breakfast was another bonus.
Location: Located centrally, ten minutes from station and close to cathedral and university.
A stay of three nights was comfortable and pleasant. Rooms were clean, fairly spacious and had all the facilities we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was exceptionally good with a wide selection of food and beverages. I would happily stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Mediocre in every sense of the word.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
It wasn't great. Staff were unfriendly, and looked like they had lost passion for their jobs a long time ago. Room was ok, but nothing special. This hotel should be 2.5 stars / 5 at best, not 3. 2/10 wouldnotstayagain
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Affordable, well located for city.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Well located for city centre. Free WiFi.
Cons: Put double beds in all the rooms.
Location: Less than an hour's train journey from Stockholm. You should visit: - River - Güntherska Hovkonditoriet - O'Connors - Stadsträdgården
I stayed here to attend a conference at Polacksbacken. It is too far away from Polacksbacken. It took about 30 minutes to walk there each day. However, it is perfectly located for a trip to the city. It's only about 5-10 minutes walk from the train station and main bus stop, is one street over from the main high streets (there seem to be two next to each other), and is only 5 minutes walk from the beautiful river which splits the city. Check in was a breeze. WiFi was a little ridiculous (you have to ask reception for a code for each device), though once you're logged on it was good. My room was huge, but the bed was tiny which is a shame. Good desk, plenty of plug sockets, a TV to watch the World Cup and a pretty comfortable arm chair. Bathroom was fine, with a good shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by i a from west midlands

Good location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Good location centre of city. Staff not attentive at breakfast, not very clean. Breakfast very basic. Reception staff polite and helpful. Room quiet and comfortable. Free wifi throughout hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Lymington UK

Nice hotel, easy to find in the centre of the city

Posted Jun 12, 2014
This was our third stay at this hotel. It was easy to access by taxi from the airport. Although we arrived ahead of the check-in time, the staff looked and found two rooms ready for occupancy. The staff at the desk were invariably helpful and the breakfast is substantial. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The single drawback would be the rooms on the main road side of the building can be noisy if the window is left open over-night. In the summer this can be a difficult choice when there is no air conditioning. Overall, we will plan to book there again for our next trip to Uppsala
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Chicago

Honeymoon

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
Location: Don't miss getting a cinnamon roll or chocolate cake slice at the cafe Linne pastry shop across from the Linnaeus museum.
We loved the Hotel Uppsala. It was the off-season so they upgraded us to a suite since it was our honeymoon. The room was clean. The breakfast food was fresh, and the eating area bright and open. The hotel was conveniently located for us. We could easily walk to the Linnaeus museum, the restaurants along the river, and with our luggage to the bus station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Vermont, USA

Outstanding stay.

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly helpful staff. Quiet rooms, great breakfast buffet, nice atmosphere.
Cons: Open shower made entire bathroom floor wet following shower. No wash cloths, but in my experience, this is true for Europe in general.
Location: Great Location. 7 minute walk from Uppsala Central Station. Couple blocks from Cafes, restaurants, Linneus Orangery. 10 min walk to Cathedral.
I was in Uppsala for three nights to photograph a friend's wedding. Every place I went was walkable, safe, and inspiring for photography. Many shopping and food options close by. Uppsala had a nice relaxed feel to it with amazing architecture. A great break from Stockholm's crowds.