Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, the staff, the pool, and the spacious room!
Cons: The rooms will need a facelift soon. The wallpaper in our room was peeling throughout. Other than that the room was awesome and super spacious.
Location: Just minutes from downtown.
My boyfriend and I are from Orange County and always head out to Palm Springs for a little getaway at least twice a year. I had never stayed at the Riviera before but he had. We stayed four days and three nights. We ended up getting in to town much earlier than expected and they let us check-in right away. We got a Junior Suite right near the main pool. Pinky helped us reserve chairs with shade at the pool all weekend. She was SO friendly and helpful. They have a DJ on Friday and Saturday at the pool that played great music. The staff at the pool (waiters and bartenders) were all great! They also have a DJ in the lobby area at the bar, great music as well. The entire staff was super attentive and nice. Even if we were just walking around, everyone asked if they could help us with anything or if we needed anything. We had such a great time and well definitely be back! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakley

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Beautiful Hotel, really enjoyed ourselves. Loved the pool's, bars, food, dj by the pool, great atmosphere. . I would definitely go back, enjoyed our weekend vacay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Staff and ability to get to locations under shade or in AC. easy parking and located to rooms.
Cons: the appearance can be improved. head board in our room had the the leather pealing. walls with chipped paint were in need of touch ups.
Location: centrally located in down town. close to lots of great restaurants.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in and Out was very quick and easy. I had hoped to try the dining restaurants but did not get a chance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The room was too hot, the A/C didn't cool off the room and the music by the pool was too lod couldn't relax in the room. It was ok, not so bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hours of inconvenience and left a day early

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our first rooms were terrible....one had no cold AC (it was 118 outside), the other had (and I'm not exaggerating) BLOOD splattered on the wall. The maintenance guy even said "Yes that does look like blood"...they said we'd get new keys right away, waited an hour. No supervisor called us as promised. Our next rooms....one again didn't have cold AC and the phone didn't work. Then something was leaking and dripping on us above the toilet. It was the AC unit that was leaking. We spent another 40 mins trying to call (from our cell phones because in room phone didn't work) and were told we'd be compensated. We ended up cramming most of our party into the other room because it was cool at least. The next day after waiting in line in the lobby for another half hour, we were told again the supervisor was not available. Had to come back a couple hours later. Finally spoke to her and she was only willing to comp one room for one night. Completely unacceptable. Our trip was interrupted several times by this hotel. We absolutely were not going to give them any more money and asked her to cancel our 2nd night. Long story longer we DO NOT recommend and are still in shock we paid anything for this experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Rooms are nasty! All the rooms have a musty Oder.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, the picture they have on their website, Yelp and Expedia are like 10 years old, the rooms are old now, all the rooms have a musty Oder, the pool was very dirty not even a blue color.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

4th of July weekend

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We frequent this hotel often because it's near the strip. Tried checking in at 12:30pm but no rooms were available. Waited In lobby for an hour and stood back in line and instead of waiting for 4pm check-in time, we received an upgrade to an available room. Dinner in the main dining area is delicious. Tried the scallions and shrimp pasta and the steak is well worth the price! Non-holiday weekdays are more fun since it get very crowded here but the crowd is good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Outdated and not clean

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Booked this hotel for a nice and relaxing girls trip after expedia showed it as 4 stars. Normally expedia had been on point for me but not this time. After driving for 9 hours we were looking forward to a nice comfy bed. Walking up to the room we noticed that the pictures on site were not accurate and clearly they got the best angles of hotel. The door to get in to building did not need your card so basically anyone could get in. The hallway was dirty and to be honest kinda creepy. Think of The Shining with the creepy twins at the end of the hallway. Once we arrived to our room it was not nice nor inviting. Very old furniture, drapes were dirty, bathroom was not somewhere I would shower and I did not even sleep on the bed. Our view was of the parking lot. Basically nothing we had imagined for our weekend. Luckily expedia was able to help us out and booked us with another hotel. Much much better and the one good thing about hotel is that they refunded us our money. The staff even said some rooms are better than others so why should I have the jacked up room?!?!? Especially when I paid more for their so called "deluxe" never again. I don't even think it's the staff's fault it's more of the owners who need to realize that it is time for a remodel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures do not match actual Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Booked hotel after seeing on Expedia it was rated 4 stars and all the pictures shown made it seem like a nice, clean retro look . Once we arrived after a 9 hour drive we were not pleased with how our room was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The pool service is a little slow, but the grounds are absolutely beautiful. You definitely feel like you're on a resort here. It's amazing! Also, right across the street from the free shuttle into downtown!