Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids

pet friendly

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Their pet policy and friendly staff
I have stayed at this motel many times. Although older and a little outdated, the staff is friendly, they offer a breakfast and the room includes fridge and microwave. All this at an economical price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow,Om

The beds were hard as a rock!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Friendly staff, bathroom in need of repair. Vent fan didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stillwater, MN

Worked well for inexpensive extended weekend

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Relatively quiet, economical compared to options in downtown Des Moines
Cons: Better breakfast options
Location: Winterset: John Wayne Museum, Quilt Museum, Covered Bridges of Madison County, Clark Tower Castle Turret; Heritage Carousel, Jester Park
This Econo Lodge was better than others we have stayed in for a budget experience when we weren't going to be spending much time there other than sleeping. One soft bed, one firm bed in our room. Mostly clean, but found part of a sandwich under the desk, age indeterminate. Breakfast not much to brag about - we only ate it once. Luckily we were near restaurants and fast food options. Fairly quiet when we stayed there, which was a huge plus as we were only there for sleeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Comfy weekend stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We went to Des Moines at the last minute while state baseball was going on. We got a great rate, location was right off I-80, the rooms were clean and quiet and our bed was so comfy it was like sleeping on my own bed. The breakfast was typical hotel style. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chet

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast could be more substantial.
4 out of 5
by Don

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Easy to walk to food places. Easy to get to the freeway on ramp.
3 out of 5
by Woodrow

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Could smell cigarette smoke thru act system . Found back entrance left unsecured with floor mat holding it open
4 out of 5
by lyle

it met my needs

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
I was in town for an Iowa Cubs baseball game, and my class reunion. Also great doing some karaoke nearby. Great location, near the interstate and closer to the downtown area than some other hotels are. I mainly needed a place to sleep, and it met my needs. nice having continental breakfast there as well.
5 out of 5
by Rosemarie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels