Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We would go back to this hotel. It had everything we needed. Peace & Quiet, kitchen, and the comforts of home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for telling us about your recent experience with our TownePlace Suites. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you again. Have a great week! Tom Murray General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Liked this hotel and the price is unbeatable. On minor complaints were that it was difficult to regulate and hold room temperature and the bathroom is very small. Hotel staff is great. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Jeff, Thanks for the great review, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines johnston

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect
Location: Great location, lots of shopping and eating close by
Great stay, we will return👍. Front desk employees were fun and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Sharon, Thank you for the great 5 STAR review, we appreciate that very much. We all hope to see you and your family again soon. Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naperville, il

A campus visit

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The amenities, the room and the cost.
Location: Local restaurant and other eateries right there. Good location.
We went to visit ISU and though it wasn't as close as I thought we were greater warmly, professionally. The room was more and better than I thought, Iit was comfortable. It was busy but not noisy and the breakfast was well done. We will come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Jim, Thank you very much for the great 5 STAR review of your recent experience with our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon! Go Cyclones! Tom Murray General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion IA

Nice hotel, good breakfast, clean and comfortableb

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Nice place close to restaurants.,friendly staff, good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hello RC, Thank you for the great 5 STAR review of your experience with our TownePlace Suites. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our complimentary, hot breakfast as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Mn

Nice, clean and quiet.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice room with kitchenette, plates, glasses, flatware. Fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and dishwasher also. Will definitely stay again when in Des Moines.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for responding to the Guest Survey and providing a 4 Star Review. We appreciate the kind remarks regarding our kitchen accommodations. We hope to have you return to our hotel in the very near future. Selena, Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Terrill

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hello Terrill, Thank you very much for the great 5 STAR review of your time here at the TownePlace Suites. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
4 out of 5
by Richard

Plumbing issues

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Found no hot water in shower or at the lavatory. Desk offered to call maintenance person, but after no arrival, I went to the desk and requested a different room. The second room had hot water in the shower but the water pressure in the lavatory was only a drizzle. I remained for two nights. The other accommodations were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback during your most recent stay at TownePlace Suites in Johnston, Iowa. We are deeply sorry that you did not have hot water in your initial room and our Engineer was not able to fix that right away. I am very glad that we were able to accommodate you into another room and we hope that the rest of your stay was satisfactory. We hope that you will give us another try and stay with us again on a future visit. Sincerely, Selena Barker Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Jon

Wonderful!

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the great 5 STAR review of your recent experience with our TownePlace Suites. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
4 out of 5
by scot

Too many kids running around.

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
There were some tournaments in tow and there were kids running around the hallways and up and down the stairs all day and night with no supervision. This was annoying and should not be allowed. Breakfast was meh. It was okay if you needed a banana and yogurt on the run or a bowl of oatmeal. I certainly wouldn't select this hotel based on the fact they include a complementary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the noisy kids and their adult chaperones who did not supervise them more properly. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team regarding this to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Urbandale. Sincerely, Selena Barker Guest Services Manager