Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Reasonable rate and interesting grounds

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Oasis in the jumble of the town.
Cons: Little, without altering the character of the place. Perhaps a menu for the restaurant and an earlier opening time. We opted to walk to town.
Location: The location is a bit isolated, but still near townsite. Fine spot to reach Moray and Salt mines from. Much lower elevation, which was helpful.
Stayed here one night. Old gated monastery with courtyard and nice white-napkin type breakfast room / restaurant. Used as a base to explore Moray and the Salt mines... The grounds are beautiful. The town is within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Step back into time

Posted Aug 2, 2017
It's a bif out of the way but besides that it's a wonderful stay. Feels like you stepped back in time. The walls are thin and if someone is walking in the room upstairs it sounds like elephants dancing. And the maids get loud when they are rushing to get the rooms ready for the next guests. So if you are sensitive to noise, this is not the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Interesting option in Valle Sagrado

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Site. Restaurant. Service
Cons: Wifi.
Location: It's in the middle of Valle Sagrado so there are plenty of things to see and do but there is nothing at walking distance.
Hotel is built in a Church site. Good restaurant (my son loved it) and the rooms are clean. Prepare for a rustic experience and the church bell at 6:00am. Staff is friendly and honest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds and architecture.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
I lost a small cheap padlock for my luggage early on in the stay but didn't mention it due to the small value. Then we left our luggage for one night (after our stay) when we went to Machu Picchu and I lost a pair of new hiking shoes that was packed in one of our luggage. We didn't notice it until the following night when we unpacked, but we were already in Cusco. Very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful settings. Quite and friendly stuff

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Nice stuff. Very authentic. Recommend to anyone who will enjoy a quiet stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: History and setting in a monastery.
Cons: Beds were hard and shower curtains would be nice.
Location: Beautiful setting for romance but not in a town for site seeing or families.
Was concerned when we arrived as town is quote rustic. Have to drive up a gravel alley, past some beat up buildings to reach the site. They cam out and unlocked the gate for the van to enter. After all this, we entered to find a well maintained and beautiful hotel with a view of the mountains. The service was great and the staff really wanted to help. Slight language barrier but no more than to be expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Very nice place to stay

Posted May 23, 2015
It's a very nice place to stay especially if you like a nice place that is off the beaten path. Transportation here is much better than it seems. You can actually hail a cab on the street but ask locals about cost first to make sure your are not being taken. Also get a room close to desk if you want to use wifi actually inside your room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Canadian visiter

An interesting place to stay

Posted May 11, 2015 on CheapTickets
We really enjoyed our stay at the San Agustin Monestario. The breakfast was varied and good. We ate dinner there several evenings and mostly had the place to ourselves. It is a short walk to the main street and about 20 minutes to the main square. The views of the hills above town are wonderful. The staff was helpful and did their best to accommodate our minimal Spanish. The chapel is a special treat--like stepping back into the last century. We would recommend the Monestario without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sigfredo V.

Great, cozy hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on CheapTickets
Not a lot to do in Urubamba, but a great place to rest. Good wifi and service.
4 out of 5
by John from Arcadia, CA

Repurposed monastery

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, nice dining room.