Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Its not a hotel, its a bread and breakfast, or better said: a hostal. I paid far too much for it, when i asked at the desk the price x noght it was half of what i had paid in expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A room with a view

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Axsur is a cute hotel near the ramblas, and worked well for my 3-day jaunt to Montevideo. My room was amply sized and very comfortable (really appreciated the ability to make tea/coffee). The staff was very friendly and did their best to help when I needed it. The breakfast, which was not included in my Expedia deal, was really good and well worth the tariff. There's not a whole lot within the immediate area but the nearest grocery and ATMs are within what I think is a reasonable walking distance. A lot of buses are just out the door and it's easy to grab a cab (or Uber if you're a foreigner).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Welcoming staff who continued to be accommodating throughout my stay. Breakfast was lovely in the morning with fresh juice, baked goods and eggs prepared to your liking.. I found parking to be a breeze (rented a car to visit Puente Del Este'). Wifi was good throughout the hotel. Anna the manager was a terrific hostess that always met you with a smile.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in Deserted area Beware.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Room smelled like an open sewer. Plus hotel located in deserted area. Stayed one night and got the hell out. If want a hotel in a sketchy area this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Better than the big guys

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: In the middle of Old Town.
The stark modernistic design is not to my taste, but for cleanliness and service this place is first-rate. The included breakfast is excellent: fresh juices and fruits, quiches, breads, rolls, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, strong coffee. Ask for an omelet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An elegant boutigue hotel.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
It is quiet yet close to the historic district. But on weekends when most restaurants close, it is a long walk to lunch and dinner, except if one walks across to eat in the NH Hotel nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located modern hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Helpful staff and a delicious breakfast added to the experience. They upgraded our room, and although a bit noisy, it was enjoyable and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, clean, roomy, friendly staff
Cons: My Spanish could have been better!!
Location: Old city, markets, restaurants
Great location in the old city, clean, roomy, friendly + helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and centrally located.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is as the name indicates a design hotel, thus recently remodeled. The free breakfast buffet is nice, you get freshly squeezed orange juice, cooked to order eggs and fresh fruits. For the price, this hotel offers great value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
A good quality hotel, we would recommend it