Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Good rooms, and breakfast
Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff. Central to old city and Mercado del Puerto. Not close to restaurants at night- streets almost deserted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Its not a hotel, its a bread and breakfast, or better said: a hostal. I paid far too much for it, when i asked at the desk the price x noght it was half of what i had paid in expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

36 hours in Montevedeo

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, quite and a nice breakfast
Location: Not very close to much of anything. Everything that you might want to do requires a walk of several blocks
I very nice little hotel close to the break water (no beach). Just a little to far off "the beaten path", especially at night. Their staff is just super!
4 out of 5
by Philip

Excellent location for historic Montevideo

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were extremely friendly, accommodating, and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A room with a view

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Axsur is a cute hotel near the ramblas, and worked well for my 3-day jaunt to Montevideo. My room was amply sized and very comfortable (really appreciated the ability to make tea/coffee). The staff was very friendly and did their best to help when I needed it. The breakfast, which was not included in my Expedia deal, was really good and well worth the tariff. There's not a whole lot within the immediate area but the nearest grocery and ATMs are within what I think is a reasonable walking distance. A lot of buses are just out the door and it's easy to grab a cab (or Uber if you're a foreigner).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Welcoming staff who continued to be accommodating throughout my stay. Breakfast was lovely in the morning with fresh juice, baked goods and eggs prepared to your liking.. I found parking to be a breeze (rented a car to visit Puente Del Este'). Wifi was good throughout the hotel. Anna the manager was a terrific hostess that always met you with a smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The people were as helpful as they could be, breakfast was also good
Cons: Stop charging the the none refundable price when your refundable price 11min. later on the same sight there is a 44 dollar difference.
Location: Located in Old Town shops are close by
Confused about the check out cost, it was less than what was charged to my bank account
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in Deserted area Beware.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Room smelled like an open sewer. Plus hotel located in deserted area. Stayed one night and got the hell out. If want a hotel in a sketchy area this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Better than the big guys

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: In the middle of Old Town.
The stark modernistic design is not to my taste, but for cleanliness and service this place is first-rate. The included breakfast is excellent: fresh juices and fruits, quiches, breads, rolls, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, strong coffee. Ask for an omelet.
4 out of 5
by Simon

Great for exploring

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very good. The kitchen was 'there' but nothing in it. Two plastic mugs and no cutlery. Shower poorly designed and position of shower head high to reach. Terrace is an area to sit but nothing else. Spa only accessible after you buy one of the beauty/spa treatments. That being said, the location is perfect for exploring the old part of the city.