Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable
Location: Short taxi ride to historical area
Lovely hotel close to beach in quiet neighbourhood. Indoor and outdoor pools. Good breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Great boutique hotel. Colonia is a small, peaceful town. Not much to do there but can rent bikes, walk, eat (recommend El Porton restaurant). Hotel has a great relaxing ambience. We got massage treatments which were great. Really good complementary breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and nicely appointed room.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Quaint and clean room. Good value. Great location.
5 out of 5
by Lee-Anne from Chico, Northern California

I'd like to return during their summer.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome. We loved our experience at this hotel. One you want to come back to in over and over. It was so nice to have the mini kitchen. We made coffee in our room and watched the sunset. Careful...while picking up trash on the beach, I got bit by red ants. Be sure to wear gloves if you are one of those "I want to leave the places I visit better than I found them types". I loved the dogs in the restaurant in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great and economical. Only issue was soeone was pacing the hotel in high heels at odd of night which reverberated throughout hotel. Apart from that, I would recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
by MARTIN MARIA from Buenos Aires

Great place to stay. Need a few adjustments

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
They need to add more deck chairs around the pool and in the room balcony
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice modern rooms a walk from historical area

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
Nice modern building with beautiful views of the river. Quick check in and out but it is a 25 minute walk from the Buquebus terminal and there are no restaurants nearby (except the hotel restaurant) so it takes 30 minute walk to downtown historical area for restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolina V.

Very relaxing stay

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel was really beautiful, tasteful and clean. We booked a loft, which is the cheapest room, and it was really spacious and comfortable. We had a nice king bed, a table, a mini fridge, an electric kettle and even a microwave oven. The wardrobe was also really spacious and it houses a safe. There's cable tv in the room but if you want, in the 2nd floor, there's a tv room for anyone to use. There's also a nice balcony in the room with a couple of chairs and a small table. Very nice if you want to have a drink while getting a bit of fresh air. The room also comes with a heat/cool air conditioner. The bathroom was very nice and clean. Good water pressure in the shower. There's free wifi in the hotel but the reception in the room was not very good. Breakfast is served at the hotel restaurant and it was really yummy and offered a great variety to choose from. Just outside of the restaurant, there's a pool but we chose to use the climatized one in the underground level as it was a bit cold outside. Also in that floor you can use the sauna and gym. I'd recommend a visit there to relax after walking so much in town. As for location, it's about 20 blocks from the historical district of Colonia. You can either walk or take a cab (it's literally a 5 minute drive). We preferred this location as it was a really quiet place and it has a great view of the river.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Montevideo

Great time!

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great stay. We had a great time. Staff was very friendly and attentive. If possible I would change the way the hotel is heated. We had a/c units in the room but outside the room and in the breakfast restaurant was cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Fantastic view of the sunset

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Its waterfront location
Cons: Nothing
Location: The old Colonia is great during the day, but very special at night.
The room was much better than expected. We had a suite, which was very well decorated and very spacious. The view of the beaches and the river, in the evening was awesome.