Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Good little hotel on the old part of town.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Good hotel, very clean and modern. It's right in front of a little market on the old town. Neighborhood is a little old and maybe a bit dangerous, but we had no problems. The staff is good and attentious. The double room is very small, with a tiny bathroom and very small beds.. All in all, a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Old City

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: A genuinely nice small hotel experience at a truly reasonable rate that included a full table-service breakfast.
Location: The Montevideo meat market is directly across the street, a must-see lunch time experience.
The Don Boutique is a charming small hotel, with gracious staff, a lovely pool -- and a comfortable rooftop deck to enjoy sunset, a view of the busy harbor, and your favorite refreshment. The hotel is fully renovated, but remains true to it 1930's art deco design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean room, excellent staff.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff really did try! But, the location is rough after dark. Great food in the Mercado across the walkway---really 5 star & the best steak ever!!-Restaurants close early though.
Cons: The room was small & crowded. Very small. The served complimentary breakfast in the morning starting at 0730-----but you will not find a decent cup of coffee before then. -----
Location: It rained like hell! Nobody's fault. Pray for dry weather. It is an easy walk to & thru the shops toward the square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice art deco hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Great food next door. Great for walking streets.
Very nice hotel and efficient staff, close to the parrillia's a few meters. Just a short walk from the ferry terminal. We stayed one night and had 2 rooms , both were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel close to the port in Montevideo.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: I liked everything about it. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this was by far one of the best.
Cons: They covered everything really well. I honestly don't have any suggestions for improvement.
Location: The hotel is in Ciudad Vieja. I could walked almost everywhere in Montevideo. It is near the beach and downtown.
The service is impeccable. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. There is parking at the hotel and it is not expensive. I did rent a car so I could travel outside Montevideo but I walked everywhere when I was in the city. I was in Uruguay for 14 days and the hotel was very comfortable, clean and convenient. The room I was in had a very nice patio so I could sit outside and have a cafe in the morning. There is also a swimming pool but the weather was a bit too cold to swim when I was there. I also found the WiFi very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Location to ferry and Mercado market

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This was probably one of the best hotels we stayed in during our trip to Argentina even tho quick one day trip here in Uruguay. It was way more relaxing compared to being in Buenos Aires. The hotel staff esp Natalia and Eduardo in greeting us when we check in early evening with welcome drink etc were particularly helpful and friendly. All staff had great English. The breakfast was a nice surprise in that it was more restaurant style; they gave us menu to order from and portions were huge and delish with eggs, meat, cereal, fruit, pastries, breads etc. As for the room, although small, it was extremely clean and functional. It was very quiet at nite when we arrived on Friday so we got a good nite rest before the market just across the street Saturday. The staff were also great about holding our luggage after we checked out until we were ready to head out for our 8 min walk to the ferry back to BA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Convenient location. Excellent staff.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Walkable from the ferry and to Mercado del Puerto and restaurants. The area was older but the hotel stood out as one of the newer and renovated establishments. I think they were trying to show that Montevideo was ready for tourists! The staff was amazing. Extremely helpful and spoke English. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. If we return, we'll definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from the terrace.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Location and hostess.
Cons: Directions on how to get there.
Location: Great location, especially if you have little time in Montevideo. Close to Cathedral, Government buildings, Market and other great locations.
We were greeted nicely and given great advice on how to use our limited time wisely. Although the rooms are small they have everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Fiorella Cerchiari Veins - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo. We are very glad to see that our location and the good advice you received from our team was key in making the most of your time here in Montevideo. We will be looking into ways of providing better directions to our property so it is not a hassle for any of our future guests to reach us. Thank you for your input and we look forward to having the pleasure of your visit in the future. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely boutique hotel in port area, Montevideo

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent friendly staff; very good breakfast. Liked the rooftop terrace and pool.
Cons: Would have liked the rooftop bar to have been open at night.
Location: The hotel is situated in the port area, opposite the mercado de Puerto - interesting old market complex. At night the port area is a bit lonely.
Smart new hotel in Montevideo port area. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast, including cooked on demand omelette, eggs etc. being boutique, hotel room was compact but fine. Liked roof top terrace with pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Fiorella Cerchiari Veins - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Meryl, We are delighted to see you had a wonderful time while staying at our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo and we are also very pleased to see you share it with the rest of your fellow travelers. It is a shame indeed the rooftop bar was closed during your stay but it's certainly not the case when the summer days arrive. We certainly hope to see you then. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Small hotel, small rooms great breakfast

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Hotel in front of the Mercado Del Puerto. Ok to walk around during the day but comes 6:00 PM it's not a safe area. I stayed 2 days and spent 1 day without Internet. Their wifi was down!! Very small rooms. Nice staff and good breakfast, orange juice is freshly squeezed. No restaurant for lunch or dinner at hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Fiorella Cerchiari Veins - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jesse, We kindly thank you for sharing your thoughts about our Don Boutique Hotel Montevideo. It's most unfortunate you felt the area was not safe to walk around at night, specially so, since the Old City is the safest of all neighborhoods in Uruguay and one of the safest in all of South America. It is monitored 24/7 via CCTV cameras located on every single corner of this area and you certainly needn't worry about crime while walking around our quiet streets. We do apologize for the wi-fi down-time you experienced and we understand is a key element within the services expected of us. When it comes to breakfast and room service, we are very pleased to have now our new breafast room and a menu, available at all times. We are always looking for ways of improving our customers' experience and your feedback is the most valuable tool to do so. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit in the future so you can experience all the good things our property has to offer. Best regards