Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great hotel, close to bus terminal, beaches, food.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The staff, the suite, the breakfast - everything.
Cons: Nothing to dislike. The hotel is older but the price and facilities make up for it
Location: Great location. Walking distance to bus terminal, beaches, interesting walks, great range of eateries. Hotel booked 4 hour bus tour of P del E.
A suite with kitchenette and seating, lounge sofa and big tv, separate bedroom and a balcony. Was off season but had an outdoor activities area with pool. Very good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016
Very good location. Very good breakfast. We enjoyed very well during the stay.
5 out of 5
by Mary Claire

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for two nights and had a really pleasant stay. I am celiac and the staff went out of their way to provide me with a gluten breakfast - the best I have received in 2 months of travel in South America. The hotel could do with a lick of paint but it is very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. The sauna is nice to relax in also.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kristopher from San Jose

Affordable, nice location, but needs renovations

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location. However anything on the Peninsula is in a good location since you can walk pretty much anywhere in about 15 minutes. We stayed about 2 weeks before the busy season (which starts ~Dec 15th) so we got a lower price. The hotel itself and the rooms were clean, but are in a desperate need of renovations/upgrades. Some examples: - There was a new flat screen TV in the bedroom - There was an old CRT TV in the living space with terrible reception - The mattress was very thin and had no real shock absorption. If one of you gets up first in the morning the other will know. - The door handle fell off the door between the bedroom and living space, but I fixed it - There is a single air conditioning unit in the bedroom that is only strong enough to cool the bedroom. Like I said we were there before high season and it was cool for most of our stay. The pool was very clean and it looked like some of the rooms and public areas near the pool were being renovated. The indoor pool and spa were also clean and nice. Note there are a section of rooms that sit above the entrance to the parking garage. Those rooms do not have balconies. When you check in ask if your room has a balcony. While we were there the WiFi was very slow and the signal wasn't very strong. This goes for inside the rooms and at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but very noisy

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels
No double windows to stop very noisy street full of buses. Also and although it is beyond the control of the hotel, punta has become a place for noisy kids to party, we were up half of the night we were there while a bunch of semi drunk teenagers were misbehaving. The hotel did nothing to stop them
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice beach view

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Very good location to the beach. It was a high price. The breakfast room was very big and very busy. It has a very big inside pool. They also have a nice quite room to read.
3 out of 5
by Chelo from Montevideo

I paid more for booking thru expedia

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Nothing impressed me.
Cons: The premises need maintenance and refurbishment.
Location: It is well located in the center of Punta del Este.
It is an old hotel with lack of maintenance. The restaurant is small and you have to wait until a table is available. The massages are ok, but the pool and sauna need a refurbishment. The signal of the cable TV has interference and the TV has not remote control. I would not come back.
4 out of 5
by Kim from Missouri, USA

Service is great!

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels
Stayed at this hotel for the FIBA Americas 16u basketball tourney held in Maldonado. The hotel staff was top notch in taking care of our questions and requests (there was always someone on duty who spoke English). As has been mentioned in other reviews, the renovation seems to still be in progress (June 2013), and our room still seemed a little dated, but everything worked (mini fridge, microwave, tvs) & they had wifi. The bathroom didn't have much room for toiletries, but the bath sheets were nice. Since it was the off season, a lot of restaurants were closed or closed early, but there were plenty of places by the beach to eat & we used the mini mart next to the hotel for snacks. There was also a full service laundromat in the next block where we were able to get a single load of clothes washed, dried & folded for abt a hamilton. We were able to navigate bus service to the venue and back for only a couple of US $ (with the stop coming back within a few yards of the hotel). And although we had the hotel set up car service for our trip from the MVD airport to the hotel; going back we took the bus which had a stop at the airport for approx US $10. The bus terminal is within 4 to 5 blocks of the hotel. Punta del Este is quiet & relaxed in the off season, the hotel was very convenient to restaurants & the beach - within blocks of both sides of the penisula and their service was really wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Cecil from Argentina

Within walking distance from everything

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels
It's allways nice to be upgraded. A very pleasant surprise.