Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Great place to fall off the grid and just relax. The lake is beautiful and the swimming pools are perfect to spend the day at during the summer. Staff is accommodating, beds are comfortable, there's amazing artwork everywhere, breakfast is very good too. It is far from civilization so not the right option if you plan to spend most of your time in Punta del Este.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl.

Beautiful view of the lake from a large balcony.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Beautiful artwork on the walls.
Cons: Fix the driveway and surrounding street. Full of potholes.
Location: Lots of amenities. Great for nature walking and fitness training.
The lake is large, lined by tall pines with many species of birds nesting. A nice cool breeze flows across the white caps and engulfs the room with freshness. A nice relaxing environment to enjoy a cocktail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novo Hamburgo, RS - Brazil

Nice hotel by lake and golf camp

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Almost everything, was even better than expected.
Cons: Some of the instalations are old, mainly at the spa, they need some renovation over there, overall is very nice.
Location: It's nice and quiet, but you need to have a car as is far away from town, restaurants, etc.
Beautiful place by the lake, with also a beautiful colf camp. Very nice hotel, good food, nice staff, clean and confortable. A lot of activities for kids and adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Quiet location, nice view from the room. Only drawback was the noise from the ventilation and heating engines below the terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Fine setting and great sports facilities

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: setting and amenities
Cons: Quality of food
Location: beach,golf & tennis
Fine setting and great sports facilites Can not be bothered to write anymore nnnnnnnnn aaaaannnnnnnkkkkkk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Excellent Hotel With Beautiful Facilities

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Everything--huge rooms, outstanding pool, attentive staff, good breakfast, and excellent location.
Cons: The internet connection was a little weak and I had to go into one of the sitting rooms to get a fast connection.
Location: The hotel has a beach on a shallow warm-water lake; is a short drive from ocean beaches; and a short drive from a nude beach.
We are halfway through a 4-month world trip and this was the best hotel we stayed in to date. It is a resort located in an upscale region within a forested area close to Punta Este. Our room with HUGE and had a marvelous deck that overlooked a manicured mixed pine & oak forest. The outdoor pool was massive and beautifully situated in the forest. This is the best hotel that I had the pleasure to visit in a long time. The only drawback was that we had to leave to fly to Greece to continue our trip I hope someday to return to Uruguay and stay at this Club for a longer time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Book somewhere else.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The outdoor pool area is quite large (but in need of refurbishment). There's quite a nice lake outside, good for cycling. The tennis courts are good.
Cons: Everything.
Location: It's very isolated. Don't go without a car.
As soon as we walked in, we wished we'd booked somewhere else. The hotel is dark, dingy and in dire need of a makeover. The rooms are full of cheap furniture, the carpets are badly stained and smell damp, the bathrooms look old. The breakfast is basic and unappetising. My heart sank when I walked into the room and from that moment on it was just a matter of waiting it out - not the sort of feeling you want on your Christmas holidays. If we could have got a refund and booked elsewhere, we'd have gone. Worse still, the hotel is about 20 minutes out of town (Punta Del Este) and the charge to get into town by taxi was US$40 (80 round trip) - they have a twice daily shuttle service into town which leaves at inconvenient times and is not free. And if you're stuck in the hotel, then you have to eat at their expensive restaurant or have room service. All in all, this place feels like a one star 1980s Eastern European holiday camp. Avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, nice to stay with family

Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth from Iowa, USA

Great Family Hotel, just outside Punta del Este

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Staff
We visited Hotel del Lago in Dec. 2013 for 2 nights and found it a unique and charming place. It offers lots of great amenities for a family get-away: golf, mini-golf, outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, game room, playground, beach volleyball, kayaking, bikes, beach chairs/umbrellas, etc. We took advantage of the $5 shuttle to the beach, which usually runs directly to Punta del Este, but the driver was willing to drop us at another nearby beach & arranged to pick us up there later. We found all of the staff friendly & very helpful. We speak a bit of Spanish, but noticed an English-speaker could almost always be found among the desk staff. A taxi into Punta del Este is approx $40 U.S., so you may want a car if you plan to spend most of your time in the resort town. We ate at the hotel's restaurant one night & had a fantastic meal - delicious and beautifully presented. Overall - highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Big room, terrace and superb view

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Big and comfortable room with a small terrace and a wonderful lake view. The hotel is isolated, you will need a car. Lots of paintings in the wall, some from the finest Uruguayan artists. The decor of the restaurant and the public areas is not sophisticated. We did not use the restaurant, the menu seemed very limited.