Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Vitor from Brazil

Very relaxing place to stay

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
I really enjoyed getting away for the weekend. The hotel is a bit far from the city but it has its advantages. It is a very relaxing place, big rooms, superb breakfast. I highly recommend if you want a place to relax.
5 out of 5
by shino

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels
Perfect location.
1 out of 5
by J

Total letdown

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels
This is in no way a 4 star boutique hotel. Lovely on the outside and the main reception/ sitting area but the rooms are a complete letdown. Expecting a king size bed suite we were shown a shabby room with a sagging double bed (the yellow/orange one in the photos)but, after complaining, we were given a slightly better one which we accepted as we were only staying one night. The hotel simply lacks most of the amenities it claims:- no restaurant, no bar, no in-room safe, no bathrobes, no toiletries other than a bar of soap. Not even a central light in the room, just 2 dim bedside lamps. No t.v. - okay in the summer but hopeless on a miserable autumn evening with torrential rain. Air conditioning antiquated...i could go on..Plus side, a really good breakfast, fine location and the owner, Hugo, is charming and helpful. The place is not without charm but is shabby rather than chic.
2 out of 5
by Caca from SP

Don't book this hotel till you read this review!!

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: The bed
Cons: Does not have TV in the room, does not have phone in the room, does not have computer...
This is a bed and breakfast hotel ,. not a 4star like shows in Expedia... I am very disappointed and should be asking for my money back,,, really!! The hotel owners are very friendly though but does not make the hotel a 4star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok but only ok!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Dec 30, 2011
Pros: service is nice
Cons: for the price you can find better options
Location: good!!!!!!!!!
no phone in the room no frigobar no safety box no tv ok !!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

La Bluette is a must experience for excellence

Posted Nov 23, 2011 on Hotels
Its like checking into what Restoration Hardware or Ralph Loren's house but decorated better and is not a facade. Hugo and his family are the inn keepers in the True sense of the word. You will be safe and comfortable as an egg in cotton. Bravo for those that understand this business. Bravo Hugo and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Hotel La Bluette - disappointing

Posted Apr 21, 2011 on Hotels
Not on beach as expectied, across busy, noisy Ruta 1, behind a large dune and a beachfront building belonging to another hotel. No dinner, or any drinks available at the hotel. Nowhere nearby for dinner. Owner recommended driving to Punta del Este as the only good option - round triip 45 minutes minimum. Hotel decorated nicely, but with few amenities, lacking comfortable chairs, wifi minifrig, luggage racks, etc. In rooms. Mosquitos and other insects a problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice

Posted Mar 13, 2011
Not worth the cost but very nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

ok

Posted Feb 13, 2011
Overall stay was OK, but nothing amazing. Nice old villa but found it lacking in atmosphere. We actually didn't find the staff very helpful - we were not given any information about either the area & didn't receive any info regarding facilities at the hotel (nor was any booklet in our room), which would have been helpful. So perhaps the Hotel had a lot of things to offer that we didn't know about... Room had character but was very basic in what it offered, & was lacking any of the nice touches I'd expect in a boutique hotel. You will need a car if you stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely at first glance...let down inside

Posted Jan 4, 2011 on Hotels
The building itself upon arrival was lovely and the rooms comfortable. The personel were very friendly and helpful. The beach across the street was beautiful and breakfast on the front veranda was nice however the seats were not wiped down and there was just a runned down feeling to the place. It was difficult to get to the pool because the plants were over grown and unattended. There were very few chairs at the pool and some of them with broken wood and not able to be used. We felt let down at the hotel. For the price, it felt like we were paying too much for a place that felt neglected.