Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OTTAWA

Great location and quiet

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Close to Independence Square and close to good restaurants and street vendors & to the port if going by ferry.
Cons: My room smelled of cigarette smoke so leaving the windows open would help. The wifi was terrible.
Location: Good restaurants on and off Sarandi Ave and lots of street vendors. Great vibe!
This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in the old part of the city. It is very safe and nice and quiet (except one night a very loud service truck was making lots of noise at 4 am).
4 out of 5
by Kari from Aguas Dulces, Rocha via Canada

Great Hotel in OldTown Montevideo

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Mixup with room details, but the Hotel Manager was able to come up with a fair solution. Marcelo is Awesome. We have stayed here before and plan on coming back in November.
4 out of 5
by Phebe from The Universe

Nice budget hotel in the old city

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
There was some confusion about our room - our paperwork from hotels.com said we were getting a king bed, but upon arrival we were shown to a superior room with a double. We talked to the desk staff about this and were upgraded to a small king (no other way to describe it). But this room was on only one floor, and as 60-something yr olds, we preferred that to the other room which had a loft bedroom and narrow stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Lots of character and great location.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Location, character, very helpful staff.
Cons: Room had an interesting layout (2 levels) but the room needs to be freshened.
Great character building in the Old City and close to central city and beach front.
5 out of 5
by keith from Bellingham, Wash.

Pleasure Fuerte

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great breakfast balcony above Sarandi. Terrace could be great with a little shade were offerred.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Old world quaintness and adequate facilitys
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Very varied shopping and good for two days walking
Very pleasant area for tourists wishing to walk to interesting areas, good shopping and apparently considered a safe area at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Not for sleepwalkers

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The stairs up to the bedroom/bathroom are very deep - which is difficult for some people.
Location: Good location for Marcado del Puerto (about a 10 minute walk) and the old city, with all the street vendor stalls en route, as well as Teatro Solis.
This is an old hotel, but it has charm. The lift is quaint and well-maintained. The most unusual feature of our room (all rooms?) is that the sleeping quarters and bathroom are one storey above the lounge area, up a flight of steep stairs. Not a comforting thought if you are inclined to sleep walk ... and a bit challenging if you have rickety knees! Good location for Marcado del Puerto (about a 10 minute walk) and the old city, with all the street vendor stalls en route. It is extremely well located for Teatro Solis and downtown shopping as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Great location. Beautiful hotel. Staff was really nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Deisy from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is worn out and the wifi was so terrible I accumulated over $200 in charges to use other ways of communicating for work offline.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Washington DC

Good but old

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was good and well situated in the old town. Stayed in a 2 floor loft suite which had a cool layout. Might not be for everyone because the stairs are narrow. The bathroom is upstairs along with the bed. The room and the hotel are dated and I expected them to be newer from the photos. Breakfast was okay with some fruit, bread, ham, cheese, and eggs. Juice, coffee, and tea was available as well.