Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Rajesh

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is quite close to the main Square of the city but is located in a run down neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

A 2-star hotel... nothing more.

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Location is superb. Prices are very competitive.
Cons: Wifi service. Also, they need to do something about that breakfast service. They cannot just call you at 8:30am without asking your preferences first
Location: Plaza Fabini, great cafes and restaurants around it. Also Plaza Independencia, where the main State buildings are, and where CIudad Vieja begins.
The hotel is a renovated, colonial house, located at an excellent location: Av. Uruguay 925, 3 or 4 blocks away from downtown, and Plaza Independencia (the main city square), and only 3 blocks from beautiful Fabini square. The hotel is, however, a two-star non-pretentious and simpleton hotel. Nothing fancy. The staff was mixed: some were very nice and friendly, and others rude and bad-mannered. Maybe the biggest problem for me was that wifi worked terribly. It was choppy and came down every 10 minutes or so. The staff frequently tried to "solve" the issue simply by unexpectedly cutting the power (fuses or plugs) of the entire building(!!) This could potentially damage an electronics you may have plugged in, but they didn't seem to care much. And additional issue was the regular "morning phone call" (at 8:30am on the dot) to ask you which breakfast you were having that day. This goes against the privacy and preferences of customers, since not everyone may want/need to wake up that early, nor be interrupted from sleep by a loud phone call. I muted the phone one day, but that didn't stop them from sending someone to knock on my door. This happened two days in a row. This is very inexpensive hotel, I know, with only 2 stars, but that shouldn't subtract from the fact that their service is sub-par. I've been to 2-star hotels, and inns and motels in other places which were much friendlier and organized than this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great value with newly renovated rooms

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. Room was clean with brand new furnishings and very comfortable. Our room was very quiet. Close to main street and a short walk to the old town.
2 out of 5
by Seth from New York

the new hotel Arapey

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
this is a quaint hotel in the center of downtown. The building is clearly from about 100 years ago, but an elevator have been installed as well as private bathrooms. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, but the rooms are on the small side. There are no refrigerator or mini-bar, but there is a decent TV and airconditioning/heating unit controlled by a remote. The shower, at least for the single and double rooms, is in the same enclosure as the toilet, meaning the floor around and the toilet get wet when you take a shower. The price is fair for the accomodations. People looking for fancier hotels should go elsewhere, but if one is looking to save money and get a clean, comfortable stay, I would recommend this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel, I wish they had some improvemnets

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, well located, vintage look with modern decoration and TV wifi and air conditioning
Cons: wifi failed for a whole night, no washing cloth arrangement. heating was set to 24 C on days when it was unusually cold. No information on food places
Location: NEar everything dwontown for business and tourism
It is a cool and clean place. Decoration and rooms are neat vintage looking with modern furniture and stylish decoration. I needed to wash cloth and there was no onsite solution nor a place where I could be guided to. The internet wifi failed for a whole night which did not allow me to stay connected and work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
Good Location old building but in good condition modest in all aspects very quiet photo does not match with small inside room that was assigned reception was not aware i was comming in only owner is reliableat reception desk dark and you smell tobacco when going into the room______ other similar Hotels in area_ are better and even some charge less _ little less,, but less I cut my stay to 5 days with them
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hyvinkaa

Hotel Arapey, Montevideo

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels
Room was dirty, moisty and noisy. Beds smelled old sweat and dirty. We could not sleep between the sheets, becouse of the smell. We used our sleeping bags. After the night they smelled just like the dirty beds. Street noise kept us awake at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, in usa

Posted Feb 6, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good locations only 4 blocks from the center. I was there only 5 hours before I checked out though. The room had no air conditioning so I checked into a hotel down the street for a little more each night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2011 on Hotels