Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice little hotel in the front of the beach.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The bicycles and the "rambla"
Cons: Breakfast should include eggs, ham, bacon, etc.
Location: Not much. Need to rent a car if you want to move around.
Nice hotel in front of the beach. Keep in mind that there's a busy street right in front of the hotel also. Hotel provides free bicycles that you can use to ride along the beach or go to nearby restaurants. Good place for the family with breakfast included. Nice hotel staff. Rooms are modern and kept clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great location, beachfront.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff. Room was large and comfortable, except for having two single mattress fitted in the Queen size bed
Cons: As per my comments, the mattress in the Queen bed, should have been same size, instead of fitting to single sized mattress
Location: Location, front of the Promenade. Great for going out for a walk/jog/cycling. Close to the hotel, you can go to Arocena Avenue, for eating
The hotel is very nice, and staff are highly professional. Always trying to help customers. It is located in a very nice area, front facing the Promenade (La Rambla) with beautiful views of the River. Outstanding sightings of the Sunset and sunrise, just crossing the Road. Carpark for free, inside the hotel!!!! Breakfast is just ok, with the basics covered, although will not match some other better sourced hotels. Rooms: Spacious, clean. Very comfortable. Only gripe: I stayed with my wife. Bed was Queen size, but it had fitted 2 mattress side by side (single size each of them). This resulted in a big hole in the middle, making it very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Quiet beach view location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The beach is divided from all hotels with a road. The hotel is directly across from the beach which is great for walking and a swim.
Cons: Availability of beach chairs would be nice.
Location: The location is a 20-30 minute taxi ride to the old downtown. 3-6 blocks away are the Casino, restaurants and shopping. Quick ride to the airport.
The hotel is modern and up to date in amenities. Having a kitchenette in the room was a great bonus. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful in getting us taxis and suggesting restaurants for supper. Bicycles were available and made use of the to ride the Rambla.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami Fla

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach
Cons: Not really
Location: A little far from from the center
No hassle check inn. Personal very efficient and caring Paula made breakfast every morning a nice experience and a pleasure to wake up to such a relaxing atmophere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to banks shops

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Staff were very helpful always ready to assist and friendly close to shops , banks and laundromat as well as buses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel in a great neighborhood

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: Modern and clean, breakfasts were great, staff was friendly.
Cons: nothing
Location: Sofitel casino and Carrsaco main street
This hotel was all that it is billed as. I personally believe that it should be a four star lodging as the rooms were both modern, clean and spacious. Located right across the beach and just down the street from the Carrasco market area was very nice. The hotel staff was excellent and helpful and the breakfasts were more that what I had anticipated. All thumbs up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by Matilde Elhordoy - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel at Expedia, we are happy to read your review about your positive experience with us! We are also delighted to hear that you valued our different services and that we fulfilled your expectations, while providing you an excellent service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted May 8, 2015
Cons: The bed. Please get rid of double beds with two mattresses!!! I cant sleep on them... might as well had a single bed.
Location: Good location, nice view of the River and close to the Carrasco restaurants.
Nice location, good value. I hate their queen (double) bed that has two mattresses stuck together. You end up in the gap in the middle of the bed for an uncomfortable sleep. I've encountered these beds in hotels in Europe and hate them. I make sure they don't have these beds before I book but failed to do so in this case. Other than the bed, location is good, tight parking spots (I had a rental) but spacious, clean rooms area plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Matilde, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, thanks for taking the time to publish your review about your positive experience in our Regency Rambla Hotel. We are happy to hear that you consider our hotel a nice place, with a nice location, clean and with good value. However, in regards to our beds, we are sorry to hear that you don´t tend to like these type of beds, they are generally accepted and valued due to their quality. Lastly, sorry for not providing you a better experience with us. In case you consider coming back to Montevideo, we will be waiting for you with our arms open! Warm regards, Matilde Elhordoy, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I very good experience a little far from downtown but very close to the airport definitely a place to stay in Montevideo
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2015 by Matilde, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel about your positive experience with us during your last stay at Montevideo. We are happy to hear you had a very good experience with us. In regards to our location, despite we are not located in downtown, we are 20 minutes car-ride from there and we consider we are strategically located considering the main attractions of the city: - We are located near the business area of our neighborhood Carrasco. - Also between 10-15 minutes car-ride to the neighborhoods of Pocitos and Punta Carretas. - While also being about 15 minute car-ride distance from the Airport. We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel. Warm regards, Matilde Elhordoy, Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suma from Brazil

Great Stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Services was superb
Location: the rambla, restaurant , and hotels nearby.
It was great , I woke up late and they call me to the room to bring me breakfast. The service was superb , the location , and the room. My bed was two single beds put together, although we slept very well there was a gap in the morning. But a great experience, will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from San Francisco

excellent stay in MVD

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location friendly staff clean room
Cons: breakfast
Location: client visit
for the money, this will be the best location and comfort breakfast is good, but can be improved