Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

affordable stay

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Great breakfast. Rooms could use more mtce.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You can't beat the location and the price

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Location and excellent wi-fi connection. Friendly staff.
Cons: Oh my, that bathroom was in need of serious upgrades. I didn't think that they made toilet seats out of thin and brittle plastic.
Location: If the peninsula of Punta del Este is the heart, Hotel Shelton is located by your belly button. Close and nearby but a little fuzzy.
The key features of this hotel were the price and the location. Hotel Shelton is located right at the entrance to the peninsula of Punta del Este. Very convenient to the bus terminal (literally the next block over), the bus stop from San Carlos (important if you are coming in from San Carlos or other smaller Uruguayan cities.) Walking at an easy pace to the tip of the peninsula takes about 20 to 30 minutes. If you want to rent a car or scooter (by the way, you will need a motorcycle license endorsement from wherever country you are from, and I happen to have one from the US), there are rental places right outside the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly. On the last day of my trip, after I had checked out and before getting on the bus to Montevideo, I rented a scooter to explore the outlying areas. It just had to rain that day and needless to say I got soaked. The hotel staff was kind enough to let me change into dry clothes. Also, great wi-fi connection at this hotel. Not for the dislikes. This hotel is out of date and in serious need of refurbishment. My room was small but not a big deal since I'm by myself. But the bathroom was way, way too small. I am not a big guy (5'9'', 160 lbs) but I felt cramped in that bathroom. Let me put it this way, after taking a shower, I felt the need to step outside of the bathroom to towel off. Yeah, it's that small. Also, it just happened to be very windy during my stay, and the windows kept getting slammed by the wind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again!

Posted Jun 9, 2012 on Hotels
We arrived in the morning after a long overnight flight and could not have been met by a more unfriendly receptionist. He simply stated that we couldn't check in until 3pm and left the reception - leaving us standing there like questionmarks with all our luggage. Luckily another guy started his shift a couple of hours later and we were given a room. The same nightshift receptionist also received a call to us from the airline we flew with, and didn't bother giving us the message. Again the other guy came to our rescue and was able to call them back. Rooms are ok, breakfast not the best and served in a really dark basement. Would not book here, there are better options, and for sure better service, in Punta del Este!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

AWESOME LOCATION

Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels
This place has the best location, close to literally everything. The room even though was clean but poorly maintained, no electrical outlets, bathroom falling apart. The people at the reception were nice but non chalant, did not offer anything or even asked if we needed anything. Like I mentioned before, the only reason why I would return is because of the privileged location and value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay only if you are looking for the best price

Posted May 5, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel is very old and it's clearly in need of a complete revamp. At least employees were very nice and hotel is very well located - close to the bus terminal and to "the fingers" (movimento al ahogado).
5 out of 5
by maria gabriela

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Excelente
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Limpieza correcta, trato del personal bueno, estado del edificio regular
4 out of 5
by Letícia R.

Atendimento ótimo

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel super bem localizado, cumpre com.o oferecido, ótimo custo beneficio, atendimento excelente, Carol e Gabriel são espetaculares....simpáticos, educados e atenciosos...fazem com a o hóspede se sinta casa ....cafe da manhã simples mas de acordo com o valor da diária...banheiro um tanto pequeno ....mas de um modo geral recomendamos e voltariamos com certeza.
4 out of 5
by Emmanuel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by MILENE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels