Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Location says it all

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: WIFI kicks in and out but that may be Ushuaia's service, not the LAN.
Location: see above
The Albatross is a wallk from the pier if you're transiting to an expedition plus it's just off the main tourist drag. Attached restaurant is good and convenient, front desk is ACES! Bathrooms are all current and working, lots of hot water. Beds very comfy. Perfectimento at the end of the world.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
This is the end of the world so I guess you can't expect to have have all the comforts of big cities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excelent lobby and lounge area.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Cons: The sign for the hotel facing the water is only visible form 2 blocks away. I walk around the place 3 times before finding the entrance.
Location: Never used the restaurant other than to by drinks and breakfast because there are too many near by interesting restaurants to try. Breakfast was good.
Ushuaia is a quaint and interesting little tourist town. As the jump off point for Antarctic tours, many are arriving from or waiting for flights or cruises; so, it is important to have a good, comfortable lounge area; this hotel has perfected that service. Food, drink, and Internet are readily available. Taxis and tour buses right there and the "tourist pier" is across the street. The staff is very supportive and efficient. On the high side but worth it for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Location: Good location, close to the main shopping/restaurant street, and close to the pier.
Easy choice for pre/post Antarctic cruise. The hotel is expensive for the quality. Breakfast is basic, especially when the hotel is busy. Comfortable seating in the lobby if you arrive prior to check in time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel in good location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Good location, comfortable lobby, food fine, staff helpful.
Cons: Needs investment, carpets fraying in places etc. On our first morning the staff were slow to top up the breakfast buffet as it was used.
Location: In centre of town. Handy for restaurants, shops, the port (e.g. for Beagle Channel boat trips). Taxi rank and bus station nearby. City Tours outside.
We stayed for three nights before a voyage ot the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and Antarctica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for cruises

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Right across from the dockside to avoid a long walk with your bags. Hotel has good food and free wifi. The view from the coffee shop/bar is nice too. Perfect for one night before a cruise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North America

Sadly Disappointed

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Ownership attention.
Location: Two minute walk to everything.
As a recommended hotel, we were very disappointed with the Albatros. We were given the two worst rooms in the hotel, rooms 16 and 17, with the line they are the only ones left. I'm pretty sure they assign rooms based on agencies booking, versus online direct. Staff is like that of Faulty Towers, nobody has a clue. And good luck if you let them touch your baggage... Don't forget the restaurant attached, it's another dysfunctional piece of work. Truly disappointing. But not sure if the others in town are any better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Did not feel welcome at all

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Internet runs very slow if it works at all, the carpet is disgusting, the furnishings are old, worn and very uncomfortable.
Location: The area is great, only the hotel is awful
The internet was always down, check-in was bumpy, the hotel really needs a complete remodel and management was extremely rude - even after I pointed out the rudeness, they were still quite rude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Awful!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel needs a remodel and new mangement
Location: Great area, just awful hotel
Roaches at breakfast, rude staff, very uncomfortable and internet was always down!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centerville, Utah

A great hotel near boat dock

Posted Dec 2, 2014
This hotel should be a must of people travelling to or from Antarctica from Ushuaia. Friendly and helpful staff. WiFi works well in my room. It's close to shopping areas in town and has a good system for storing luggage before and after checkin or checkout times. It hosts an excellent restaurant as well.