Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Cosy and Comfortable

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Special thank to the Manager for the great parking for the Moto. Much appreciated. Great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great budget hotel Ushaia

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We stayed for night in a spacious triple room. Room has heated floors, simple breakfast included, staff were super friendly, well known by day your companies easy to be picked up. Walking distance to downtown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2016
A little far from the main activities of Ushuaia, about a 30 minute walk but the neighborhood is questionable. The breakfast was very basic, didn't even offer toast. If I return to Ushuaia I would definitely stay nearer to the main harbor
4 out of 5
by Tuan from Buffalo

Friendly front desk staff

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable, clean room. Nice & friendly front desk staff. They even made us a cup of tea in the evening to warm us up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Cons: Lower the temperature of the rooms
It was great, the only problem was that the temperature in the room was like a sauna. It was unbearably hot, but everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from texas

Very friendly staff: Distance versus price

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: The staff worked hard to answer our needs. I sent out laundry that didn't come back on time, so, they woke the laundry owner up to deliver it.
Cons: Update upholstered furniture and turn down the heat. We found everywhere indoors in Ushuaia was way too warm for winter.
Location: Ushuaia is a rather rough looking town in a spectacular setting. The hosteria is probably the nicest building on it's block.
This hosteria is a little distance from downtown and pretty dated. The staff was very helpful and the owner speaks fluent English. It's a very basic accommodation, but quite reasonably priced. Expect to need a cab ride to/ from the hosteria and add that to the price to compare to more central hotels. We walked downtown the first time- not the nicest areas to walk through and probably took 20-30 minutes. Cab fare about $50ar/ $5US each trip. They include a continental breakfast, but no other food service. The location was quiet. They could charge half as much if they turned down the heat! We were there in August and had trouble sleeping because the rooms were so warm. The furniture could use some serious updating, but our room was quite spacious- sheets were nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Place to Stay in Ushuaia

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
I extremely enjoyed my stay at Hostería Les Éclaireurs. The employees were a delight and were very friendly. Above all, Sandra, the front desk attendant that works in the afternoons-evenings, is amazing. She took her time to explain all of the ins and outs of the various trips and activities throughout Ushuaia. Although this hotel is about a thirty-minute walk to the center of down, I would recommend that you stay here because it's not very far from the entrance of the Martial Glacier and it's easy to get a taxi given that there is a stand not too far from the hotel entrance. Moreover, you can receive a 10% discount on your stay if you pay in cash (dollars, pesos, etc).
5 out of 5
by Roberta from Michigan

Ushuaia-A Place to Stay at the End of the World!

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in Ushuaia by myself a few days before joining a tour. I had a very comfortable room with daily cleaning and towels. Bottled water and drinks were available for a reasonable cost. The daily breakfast had a nice variety of choices. Because my bag followed me by a little more than a day, the hotel owner called about it. When I returned that day, my bag was in the room waiting for me. She also took my suitcase and my carry-on to my next hotel. They offered help setting up tours and laundry service, neither of which I used. I was very happy with my stay at Les Esclaireurs.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Phoenix

fin del mundo

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was friendly. They spoke very little English. There was a lady who was there early in the morning that spoke perfect English and could help you out in every situation. The rooms were basic. The internet was slow, but I think it was a telco problem. The hotel is locate a ways from the center of Ushuaia. It's quite a walk uphill against the wind back to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing and poor service

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Attitude of reception staff, regulation of heating
I stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 nights, with a gap of 2 nights to go trekking. Although it's very common to go trekking in Ushuaia I had difficulty getting the staff to understand that I wanted to leave a bag in storage (a common practice) and have some laundry done while I was away. While my Spanish is basic, all the reception staff spoke no English at all, which was not helpful. The hotel rooms were overly hot, with no control over the underfloor heating, so in order to have a bearable temperature I had to spend most evenings with the door open and sleep with the window wide open - not ideal in a ground floor room opening onto the corridor. I was also told that I would be charged 25% per night extra to my price from Expedia. This was not an exchange rate issue as the price from the hotel (and on their website) was quoted in US$ not pesos. I never received a satisfactory explanation of this and refused to pay it. On my last night, I was woken by water pouring from the ceiling through a light fitting onto my bed. The reception staff dealt with this promptly however they made it clear that I was expected to stay in the room (sleeping in another bed). I spent a disturbed night listening to water drip into a bucket. In the morning it was clear from repairs to the ceiling that this had happened before. Also it could be clearer that the hotel is a long way from the centre of Ushuaia. This is not a problem in itself, but some people might find the 40 min walk too much