Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Nice hotel very far from downtown

Posted Jan 14, 2016
I stonly recommend this hotel to leave it as a choice for the first or last day of your trip. You can relax with the view and Spa facilities (note spa only opens from 17 to 21 hr.) I enjoy the experience of staying at the mountain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The surrounding location
Cons: Cleanliness, comfortable beds and better food.
Location: Hike
The hotel was in a wonderful setting, but far away from the city. The front door was being worked on and we had to try to find a back door. No one to help you with the baggage. The mattresses only had a thin sheet on them, flimsy pillows and NO blankets. The shower had black mod on the tiles. The food at the restaurant was poor at best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Views. Great people at reception
Location: Location excellent. Nothing to do nearby
Enjoyed. Great location. Out of the way. Good hotel staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
If you have a car, this place can do it for you, as it is relatively far from Ushuaia town centre. It is not extra luxurious, but comfortable enough for a short stay. It has a nice wellbeing/fitness area, but its working hours are quite short, which can be penalizing during the long summer days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Not recommended for staying in Ushuaia

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Hotel is 15 km outside town, with absolutely nothing to do and no choice of food besides meager local restaurant. For everything you need taxi to Ushuaia 110 pesos one way. Ushuaia is lively town, every hostel there is better than Kauyeken. Besides wooden floors pass all the sounds from room to room.
4 out of 5
by Melissa from Portland

Served its purpose

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here overnight on our way to Antarctica and the hotel was nice enough. Good points: the scenery around the place is beautiful, our room was clean and the restaurant/bar were a nice place to hang out for an evening. Bad points: It's a bit far out of town, so be prepared to pay a good 20-25 dollars (US) for a taxi to get there from the airport and another 20 to get back into town. Also, the breakfast was kind of pathetic. We had a choice of a few breads, some corn flakes (with no milk) and that was about it. I asked the staff if they could whip me up some eggs and that was a no-go.
1 out of 5
by Sara from Delray Beach, Florida

Run down and far from town

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Run down hotel, needs much upkeep. Far from town and activities. Stay anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mark from australia

Stunning location just out of town in the mountain

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Cons: Fittings a little old fashioned.
Location: Fantastic short hikes from hotel.
Stayed one night only, fantastic views and several short walks available from the hotel, one to a beautiful waterfall off the beaten track. Spa and other facilities included with fantastic views. Restaurant food great at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathan from Dana Point, CA

Kauyeken was better than the reviews had said

Posted Dec 30, 2013
I was skeptical about staying at Kauyeken given many of the reviews. However, it turned out to surpass my expectations. While it was out of the way from the city (which I agree with the reviews), the location was dramatic and breathtaking with the soaring snow-covered mountains above and river below and the approx. $10 USD 15 minute taxi ride each way (there is no shuttle as some reviewers had said) was well worth it, especially given the special Expedia price I had received on the room. The reception as friendly and very helpful and moved me to a higher floor room with a better view with no problem. The room was warm and comfortable and had a great view. I also found the food in the restaurant fairly priced and good to excellent (pumpkin soup, steak, and Calafate red bean ice cream). While the Jacuzzi did not work, the sauna was very good, although strangely the health club is only open in the evenings. Overall, my experience at this hotel was excellent, and while it is not convenient to the shops and restaurants in town, it is a great nearby get-away to the mountains in a superb idyllic setting! Nathan from California, USA
5 out of 5
by David Israel from Buenos Aires

No tuve oportunidad de conocerlo pero...

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Debo aclarar que por razones de obras en el Hotel, mi reservación fue re ubicada al Hotel tierra del Fuego que esta en el centro y es excelente por todas las comodidades, el hotel es lindo, la limpieza es excelente siempre hubo calefacción y todos los servicios funcionaron al 100%