Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Blessington, Co Wicklow

Superbly run hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
I highly recommend you stay at this hotel if you need accommodation in this area. Owner and staff deserve top rating for their very professional and friendly service. Rooms are excellent. Restaurant offers a fine menu including excellent pigeon breast and venison. Fine wine list and top quality breakfast too. I can easily see why it's an award winning hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Glen yr Afon. A TOP HOTEL.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Everything- the individual rooms, the food, the staff and the service.
Cons: Nothing. It's great there.
Location: Situated in Usk. A nice small town in Monmouthshire, with lots of interesting nooks and crannies.
I visited this lovely hotel in Usk with my wife last week. I was attending a function, but decided to stay the night. What a lovely hotel! I won't labour the point, but it's superb. Homely but sophisticated. I would certainly recommend this to all as a special treat for couples. If you're getting married in that area, go here. I will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Warm family run hotel, impressive facilities, nice

Posted Jan 1, 2015
We liked Usk, unspoiled little place, liked the staff and atmosphere and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by sandra from chester

disappointing room

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel excellent service and restaurant meal. My room was awful-room 9 was a family room paid £139 was over 2 floors and above the kitchens. The noise below was horrendous. I complained to the duty manager but nothing was done. I paid full price for the room and felt i should have been compensated in some way.
5 out of 5
by mick glossop from London

Great Venue

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
A memorable stay as a wedding guest, everything was first class, food, wine and accommodation.
5 out of 5
by Loraine from Barmouth

Fabulous Break

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful building, fabulous food, friendliest staff. Thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Cliff from Aylesbury

Very nice hotel - beautiful location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The friendly helpful staff
Cons: Room showing its age slightly but only to be expected in a hotel as busy as this
Location: Beautiful countryside and easy access to Cardiff and Newport
Nice hotel with very good facilities. Showing its age in some areas - but more than made up for by friendly and efficient staff. Room was clean and well serviced. The restaurant staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Good central base for Newport/Cardiff and Brecon Beacons. Will definitely visit again. The hotel managed a very large wedding party during our stay without us feeling overwhelmed by it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally recommended!

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels
My second stay in this hotel. Lovely atmosphere, great food, excellent service. I love going to this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Service, Fantastic Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels
Booked the Glen-Yr-Afon for our 6th wedding anniversary, we got married there and have never been back till this stay. Very welcoming, couldn't do enough for us, we hadn't booked in to have a meal there but after looking at the menu we asked if they could fit us in as there was a wedding on at the same time. Meal was lovely, we were worried about being in the way of the wedding, but we were completely separate. Staff were brilliant, French (I think!) maitre d was fantastic. Room was extremely clean and well equipped. We will definitely be going back and will not leave it 6 years this time!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2012 on Hotels