Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: convenient location
Cons: odor when you first walk in - maybe having carpets professionally cleaned?
Location: Aquavino restaurant is excellent and in walking distance and located right by the water.
This is a very accomodating hotel. Ceiling room could have been redone - but it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. I'm terribly sorry about your recent experience during your stay at our property. We are in the beginning stages of working to renovate the rooms. We do hope you'll give us another chance to make it up to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Fitness center was so small you could workout, the pool is only 4'.... pretty disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. Unfortunately we do have a small fitness center, my management company was looking towards trying to make it larger. The pool is just under 5' because we do not have a life guard on duty. I'm terribly sorry about your experience during your recent stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location near thruway

Posted Jul 29, 2017
We asked for additioal clothes hangers when we checked in but we're told " sorry we don't have any". Told them iron was missing from room once again " sorry will see what we can do"... they did give us one after a second request as did 4 clothes hangers. Only paper cups in room ... no glass. Staff was pleasant but it was over priced for what we got.$800 fo4 nights in Utica with paper cups is a bit rediculious
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. Please allow me to apologize over your recent experience during your stay with us. Hilton requires us to have the wrapped paper cups in the rooms for their Hamptonality on Property. We do have glass cups on property for when guests request them, however, we don't provide them in every room. We do look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Utica area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hampton Inn Utica New York, Genesee St.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Gravy & Biscuits for breakfast
Location: lots of things to do and Hampton Inn has all of the brochures available in the lobby.
Great stay! We stayed here for a week while visiting family. There were six of us so we had two rooms. Everything was clean and neat. Staff & Front Desk were very attentive and dedicated to customers. Breakfast was always very good, the only thing we missed was gravy & biscuits with the scrambled eggs! We are from the South so that is something we are used to. :-) We have stayed at this motel before and will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Erin, Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. The entire staff strives to make sure all of our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home." We try to rotate the breakfast daily so there is always something different for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Utica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This is the third time I've stopped at this hotel. I've never been disappointed. So comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. The entire staff strives to make sure all of our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home." We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Utica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We were traveling to New York for a wedding and this hotel meet our needs perfectly. It was clean, quiet, and the breakfast was fantastic. The only negative was that the receptionist informed us upon check-in that check-in time is 3pm, not 2pm like the website said. When I inquired of this she replied "it is a typo." However this time is listed as check-in on Hamptons website and on each of the hotel room doors at the hotel. A little misleading. She was, however, very accommodating and was able to find an open room for us at 2 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. I'm so delighted you had such a wonderful stay while here for a wedding. I'm terribly sorry the front desk had said that was a "typo", but very happy we were able to get you into a open room. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Utica. The entire staff strives to make sure all of our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home." We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Utica area.
5 out of 5
by Edward

Good Accomodation

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great and accommodating staff, very nice, large, comfortable room with all the amenities, nice breakfast buffet. A little confusing to get to, located behind a not-so-nice Denny's
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. The entire staff strives to make sure all of our guests feel like they are at their "home away from home." I'm terribly sorry about our entrance being shared with Denny's, it does make it slightly confusing, however being set so far back it makes it very quiet and without any road noise. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Utica area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need a flashlight

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great except the lighting in the rooms. I don't know why they thought they needed to put low energy bulbs everywhere. You couldn't see to read or do anything unless you were directly under a lamp. People were complaining about it in the breakfast room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. Please allow me to deeply apologize over your recent experience at our property. We are in the process of trying to correct the lighting issue with brighter bulbs and different lamp shades. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Utica area.
4 out of 5
by Wendy

Excellent price quality

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a little hard to find. It is located behind a Denny's restaurant and the sign is very small. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated we had more than enough space and breakfast was included. The surrounding area is not very pretty and there are not a lot of options for things to do or restaurants on Mondays. I do have a little pet peeve there was something making a ticking noise in my room that was a little annoying. Service is five stars I'm sure if I had told them about the noise they would've found it and stopped it and I know this because at breakfast we missed breakfast by 15 minutes but they gave us a little boxes of cereal some fruit salad and milk and cups for us to take up to a room even though we had missed the free breakfast time it was so above and beyond what was expected .