Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction

Posted Jan 17, 2018
The hotel is being remodeled ... it is no longer a Radisson so the signs are covered and looks like it is closed. They are still doing construction. The room was nice but my door did not close right. The water out of the tap was cloudy. Staff was friendly. It was hard to know they were even open looking at the hotel from the outside. You park in the city garage connected to the building which they charge for yet no one was every in the booth at the garage the gates were just left up so why pay? It wasn’t horrible however they should let ppl know that they are remodeling. And again it is no longer a Radisson it is becoming a Marriott once they remodel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No proper signage of the hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Not applicable
Cons: Not applicable
Location: Not applicable
Too much noise during the night. I cannot sleep well and it may be caused by the renovation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fishkill NY

Great staff, mid-reno growing pains

Posted Jan 15, 2018
The staff were very sweet and helpful. The facility is in the process of being redone so it felt a little rundown. Honestly I dont know if we were in a pre- or post-renovated room. Lamps were falling off the walls and almost fell on our baby. We smelled smoke in the hallways (though it’s a nonsmoking hotel of course). The pool was locked and dark when we went to use it, but yhe maintenance guy did come in from snowblowing to let us in there. We joked with the kids that we were staying in a haunted hotel and they believed us. The staff seen to care and hopefully things will improve once it becomes a Marriott.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Cons: Use of credit card. Phone skills for the staff
Location: Convenient to the Polar Express.
We had joining rooms. One room did not have a heater that worked. Also in that room the phone did not have a wire to connect it to the wall. The front desk did make arrangements for another room. However when I called she told me I could not get a king size bed. I replied that I was not looking for a king size bed. The next day I had left by 8:00 am. Later that morning I received a phone call that the receptionist started the conversation with "Don't be mad." My charge card was charged three times and they were not sure how it happened. This charges were corrected after a few calls to the hotel and my credit card company. Then later had another pending charge. This was very inconvenient as I really do not have extra time to make calls and check my credit card. The least they could have done is credit my parking garage fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The hotel was ok but needs to be updated. They should also tell you at sign in about 50 dollar a night holding fee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, but just okay

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: the staff was very friendly
Cons: the food in the restaurant; finishing touches in the rooms (towel racks in the bathroom, 'do not disturb' door signs, hotel information in room)
Location: convenient location downtown and near the Thruway.
The hotel is undergoing some renovation, it seems, so it may improve. The lobby looked great. The staff was great -- very courteous and helpful. The hallways were a little dirty (stuff all over the rugs). The room was odd -- it looked good, but was lacking things. For instance, the bathroom had nowhere to hang a wet towel. There was no "do not disturb" sign in the room. There was no hotel information book in the room-- there is room service available, but there's no room service menu in the room. I asked for a room service menu at the desk, but they just told me I could access it on my phone. I did, but would rather have had paper. It felt like maybe no one had been in the room for a while, or maybe ever since the remodel (the clock was on daylight savings time three weeks after it ended). The breakfast buffet was not good, but was cheap. Very nice people ran it, but I learned that it IS possible to ruin bacon somehow. I was charged $7 per night to park, even though the garage was free all weekend (Black Friday and that Saturday). I'd consider staying here again because it is well-located, but was not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica, NY

Misleading

Posted Nov 17, 2017
When booking a room through Expedia, I was guaranteed a king size room through the site (both times I've booked here), however, the standard double room is what is actually booked with the hotel. I realized this as I was at the check-in counter and double checked my confirmation... The girl was absolutely correct, I booked a king, and the final confirmation was a double room... Expedia is a little misleading and shady at times... But the hotel is fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Good hotel in this attractive city, even though it is under remodeling. It is friendly and comfortable
4 out of 5
by Trish

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but not worth the price we paid.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff. Clean, comfortable beds, lots of space in room.
Cons: Showing its age - renovations should help. For current condition, lower price would be more appropriate. Clean the tub/tiles better, renovate bath..
Location: Did not explore.Close to interstate, so convenient for travel.
Staff was courteous and very helpful, but hotel and surrounding area were a little worn out. We didn't like parking in the city ramp, even though it was free for hotel guests. Shower needs more attention from housekeeping. Hotel is undergoing major renovation, so things should improve. I felt the price for the room was about twice as high as what it was worth. I expected a top-notch, super clean room for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing candid feedback. I am pleased that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. I am also very happy that you found our staff to be helpful. Our team takes great pride in providing pristine accommodations and outstanding service. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with the current condition of the property. As you know, the hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation which will completely update every aspect of the building. We are very excited by the progress being made and sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us during future visits to the Utica area.