Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inviting Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel Utica is a historic gem. The staff is friendly. The room decor is dated, but very clean. They are currently undergoing a floor-by-floor renovation as they transition to becoming a Doubletree. Even so, there was no construction noise. I will happily stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the money

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The room was old and tired and the mattress was really bad. On the other hand the bathroom had been updated and was very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms fine but public spaces regrettable

Posted Mar 19, 2017
My room was comfortable and clean, but the grand hotel lobby is shabby, the restaurant is under construction, and the snow on the sidewalk between the parking lot and hotel door had not been properly shovelled, making it dangerous and difficult to get luggage in and out. The front desk clerk was not particularly helpful, and the remains of yesterday's breakfast were still in place on the lobby buffet when I checked in at 4PM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel was dingy and cold. They are in the process of renovating. Our bed was definitely not a queen although they insisted it was. Our heat didn't work for several hours. The staff was the best part of the stay-they were friendly and helpful and plowed us a spot to park in a really bad snowstorm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watertown, NY

Nice room with a view.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
A plethora of amenities, an amazing view of downtown Utica and a little history wrapped up in what turned out to be an amazing stay. The historical value alone is enough to incite another stay in addition to the amazing renovations, excellent customer service and wonderful hospitality; when I stay in Utica from now on it will be at this amazing Gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
staff was friendly and helpful. the continental breakfast was excellent. Location was perfect, a 2 minute walk to the hockey arena and close to all restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to may places

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very comfortable, clean, breakfast was enjoyable
5 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Recently remodeled. Breakfast was very good. Did not check out the restaurant or bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great option for Utica stay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The grand ballroom lobby feels a bit sparse and lonesome, as do the wide hallways and this part of town in general, but don't let that fool you. The rooms are large, well appointed, comfortable. The breakfast is a nice surprise...better than most. If looking for more, there's a great bakery/cafe (Bite) across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Jessica Shumway, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Nice historic hotel.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Nice, Rooms are very clean. They are making upgrades. Hotel is one block from Utica Aud can catch a Comets game. Parking area needs improvements. Staff very nice. Fast check in
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Jessica Shumway, Hotel Management
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are actually in the process of expanding our parking lot and will have parking for more than 150 cars. We do hope that you will come back and be our guest again.