Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The inn was very nice. The staff was great and super friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The staff was wonderful. A very nice young man was working the desk late at night.
Cons: Paint, change carpets etc.
Location: ?
The walls and floor were dirty. Place was really rundown.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neversink, NY

hotel/conference center in Rome NY

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff, the complimentary water and fruit and the comfortable room.
Cons: Needs to upgrade to wireless internet. How can you have a conference center without wireless?
Location: I was just driving through.
I booked the hotel because I wanted a place to stay after dropping my son off at college, about halfway home. The decider for me to book it were the pictures of the Romanesque pool. I was disappointed to find that it was actually a pool that is kept hidden and locked up, and I only found it by hunting around. The hotel has several restaurants, which I didn't try. The staff was very friendly and I was given complimentary water, apples and chocolates. The room was nice and comfortable, but there was no wireless, just an ethernet cable (which my computer doesn't have.) There was a coffeemaker in the room, hooray! It would have been nice though if there was coffee available in the lobby, with milk. I went for a walk around the very attractive grounds - there is a big pond with a fountain and a conference center. There always seemed to be staff around who were watching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
The place is in quite setting. It's clean but older.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but ok

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The place has seen better days. In and out of bathroom is a bit cramped. The Beeches was "The Place" to be 50 years ago. We used to live in Rome. Nice banquet facilities. Breakfast restaurant is reasonable. Recommend to a friend? Yes but understand the conditions and pricing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A bit of Americana

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: In room fridge and microwave were especially handy with the two children. Otherwise they had everything you would expect.
Cons: Bed was a bit soft for me but I normally sleep on an extra-firm mattress.
Location: It was within 5 miles of Fort Stanwix, 35 of the Diamond Mine and 35 from the Erie Canal Cruise. I like visiting NPS sites and the Fort was terrific.
It is an older building but well maintained and quite large for a hotel room along the line of the old cabins I used to stay in with my family as a child. Rooms are all on the ground floor. Nice restaurant in house. Great view of the grounds from the rocking chairs at the entrance of the room. I was on a weekend trip with my grand sons and it was a combination history learning experience as well as diamond mining adventure. Temperature being what it was the pool on site was perfect for them to cool off and spend some of that energy all boys their age (9 and 12) have. Staff was very nice and helpful especially Renee whom we met at the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Room was clean & pleasant. Staff turned down bed @ night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Good location for my needs
Cons: See above
Location: Neither Rome nor Utica have any inherent charm or memorable buildings. I went there to run the Boilermaker, the largest 15k race in the USA.
The room was clean but small, the bathroom very tiny and cramped. The entire hotel is in need of and update. Since the grounds are wonderful, updated rooms with larger windows and baths as well as a lighter touch would really make this place much more appealing - it still has a last century motel feeling, without any charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice motel. Beautiful setting. Avoid Room 33!

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price for a sell-out weekend like Boilermaker. Turn-down service. Friendly staff. Gorgeous setting. Large room. Nice bathroom.
Cons: Glass in outside door has a cheap, white Venetian blind which does nothing to keep out the bright light which shines in all night long. Kept me awake
Visited on Boilermaker weekend and not too, too far from race course. Nice large room -- 2 queen beds, but it smelled damp and was right off lobby. AVOID Room 33! There are three doors inside the room leading to two other adjoining rooms and to the sometimes-noisy lobby. Yes, the noise travels through. Neighbours had a yappy dog. Glass in main door means the room not darken-able. Bring your eye-masks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quaint older property.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Quaint, not cookie-cutter.
Cons: Breakfast service time.
Different from a chain hotel in a good way. Very clean. Well-maintained. Breakfast was not included with the room however it was very reasonably priced. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave which was a very welcome bonus. Only complaint is that service for breakfast was EXTREMELY slow.