Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Outstanding bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Mik and Magie are doing huge effort to render your visit in their exiting home pleasant. The location of the hotel and its history make the stay very special. Highly recommended if you look for a unique hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Stay at a true mansion

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The impressive setting in a magnificent castle from the late 19th century.
Cons: You do share bathrooms, but that is the nature of the house.
Location: Near Herkimer (canal rides) and Cooperstown with lots to go there. But go for the stay in the mansion, not necessarily for the activities.
Unlike B and Bs where you sometimes feel stuck in the bedroom of the kid that just moved out, this is truly an historic mansion and a B and B with great character. The hosts are friendly and informative, all the rooms have GREAT views, and the 19th century mansion is an architectural masterpiece. It is still being restored, but the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast cooked to order, and the setting magnificent. Go out of your way a bit to the little town of Little Falls, NY, and stay the night. You won't regret it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Wonderful people and amazing breakfast. Perfect spot for hopping to Cooperstown while staying out of the direct HOF craziness.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Central New York

Wonderful romantic getaway in beautiful mansion

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The owners are very friendly and hospitable, take very good care of their guests. Gave us a tour of the beautifully restored historic mansion. The breakfast was wonderful! They were very accommodating!
5 out of 5
by Don

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Northport

Amazing breakfast.

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing breakfast. Very unique old style mansion. Great host/chef offers complimentary beverage upon arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best mansion ever!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed everything, the views the rooms the service they were all second to none.
Cons: If anything was to be improved they would have a hard time getting me out of there!
Location: The location is up on a hill that overlooks the valley's of Little Falls, NY.
When we got there and were awestricken by the beauty of the place, we were escorted to our rooms which were absolutely gorgeous, the excellent view that was seen from the windows, the beautiful pieces of furniture the woodwork and attention to detail were all second to none, after unpacking and settling in for a little bit we made are way down to the main floor and were greeted by a fully stocked bar and a wrap around porch which boasted excellent views as well. A band was setting up downstairs for the new years eve gala which was starting at 7:00. The gala provided a three course dinner, 5 different types of caviar to taste, champagne toast and party favors. There was coffee, a chocolate fountain and another fully stocked bar downstairs to encourage dancing for the funk blues band which was playing. After the gala ended we made are way to the foyer to send off all the party goers and I had a chance to play the piano, at this point it was very early in the morning and it was time for bed. When we woke in the morning the housekeeper greeted us with a breakfast selection which basically encompassed anything you could want for breakfast! Then sadly as fast as it came it was time to leave, if you are going to stay there make sure you get there early to have enough time to explore, trust me you will want to!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jan 2, 2016
My husband and I , along with six friends stayed at the bed and breakfast for New Years' eve. We were treated so well. The place is an amazing work of architecture. The rooms are well furnished with authentic pieces. The breakfast that James fixed us was so good. I don't think you could stay anywhere else with a better view or breakfast!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great inn in Little Falls

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Location: Little Falls has a couple of good cafes and restaurants, and is within reach of breweries, museums, and some great hiking.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the weekend in mid November, and I'm already looking forward to visiting again. The house is beautiful and our room was lovely. The innkeeper, Jim, truly made our visit. He was beyond attentive and friendly, and gave us some great tips on the places we were planning to go during our stay. I've had my share of pleasant-enough B&B experiences, but my stay at Overlook was by far the best. A huge plus: Jim makes a mean omelette. We stayed in the Gold Room and had plenty of space. Since we visited in November I was afraid the room would be very drafty, as it can be in older houses, but we were fine for the entire weekend. Overall, I was completely happy with our stay and would not have changed a single thing. A sincere thanks to Jim for helping to make our trip a great one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

The Mansion care taker (Jim) was a great Host...

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: French restaurant Canal Side Inn excellent food and service
The Mansion care taker (Jim) was a great Host. The home is lovely and grand. Imaculately clean and well taken care of. Jim, is a great cook and will spoil you with what you will like to have for breakfast. Nice, place.