Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem, go find it and enjoy

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Relaxing comfort in a very hard time to relax, step back in time
Cons: Nothing really but wish they had a liquor license versus byob
Location: canal house for dinner, just relax
Gold room was lovely, I am not so much a b&b person nor is my wife, these owners really get it and you will unwind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Outstanding bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Mik and Magie are doing huge effort to render your visit in their exiting home pleasant. The location of the hotel and its history make the stay very special. Highly recommended if you look for a unique hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Stay at a true mansion

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The impressive setting in a magnificent castle from the late 19th century.
Cons: You do share bathrooms, but that is the nature of the house.
Location: Near Herkimer (canal rides) and Cooperstown with lots to go there. But go for the stay in the mansion, not necessarily for the activities.
Unlike B and Bs where you sometimes feel stuck in the bedroom of the kid that just moved out, this is truly an historic mansion and a B and B with great character. The hosts are friendly and informative, all the rooms have GREAT views, and the 19th century mansion is an architectural masterpiece. It is still being restored, but the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast cooked to order, and the setting magnificent. Go out of your way a bit to the little town of Little Falls, NY, and stay the night. You won't regret it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A special visit to a setting from America's past

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overlook Mansion is a very special property, confirmed by the tour that the gracious owners were happy to give. Indeed, it would rank alongside a number of paid-admission tourist sites. Getting to stay in a room in such a place was a total pleasure--I would even say a privilege! The beauty of the late nineteenth century home, especially the original woodwork, is stunning. The setting is convenient, majestic, and very private. The owners prepare a very satisfying made-to-order full breakfast each day. Two things prospective visitors need to be aware of, though, are the necessary use of both exterior (rather steep) and interior steps, and the fact that the guest floor is set up in a way that some guests may have to share a bath. This is not clear on the Hotels.com site, which should be revised accordingly. However, the owners graciously made sure that our expectations for a private bath were met. Altogether, it was a delightful stay, and we would be happy to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Wonderful people and amazing breakfast. Perfect spot for hopping to Cooperstown while staying out of the direct HOF craziness.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Central New York

Wonderful romantic getaway in beautiful mansion

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The owners are very friendly and hospitable, take very good care of their guests. Gave us a tour of the beautifully restored historic mansion. The breakfast was wonderful! They were very accommodating!
5 out of 5
by Don

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Northport

Amazing breakfast.

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing breakfast. Very unique old style mansion. Great host/chef offers complimentary beverage upon arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best mansion ever!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed everything, the views the rooms the service they were all second to none.
Cons: If anything was to be improved they would have a hard time getting me out of there!
Location: The location is up on a hill that overlooks the valley's of Little Falls, NY.
When we got there and were awestricken by the beauty of the place, we were escorted to our rooms which were absolutely gorgeous, the excellent view that was seen from the windows, the beautiful pieces of furniture the woodwork and attention to detail were all second to none, after unpacking and settling in for a little bit we made are way down to the main floor and were greeted by a fully stocked bar and a wrap around porch which boasted excellent views as well. A band was setting up downstairs for the new years eve gala which was starting at 7:00. The gala provided a three course dinner, 5 different types of caviar to taste, champagne toast and party favors. There was coffee, a chocolate fountain and another fully stocked bar downstairs to encourage dancing for the funk blues band which was playing. After the gala ended we made are way to the foyer to send off all the party goers and I had a chance to play the piano, at this point it was very early in the morning and it was time for bed. When we woke in the morning the housekeeper greeted us with a breakfast selection which basically encompassed anything you could want for breakfast! Then sadly as fast as it came it was time to leave, if you are going to stay there make sure you get there early to have enough time to explore, trust me you will want to!