Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Spent holiday weekend. Breakfast was leisurely and we even got a tour of this impressive home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Pleasant Surprise!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: It was a an old mansion with history. Very neat to stay at.
Cons: Lovely just the way it is! (Private bathrooms would be nice, especially if the house was full, but we didn't have any issues during our stay.)
Location: Quite a few local restaurants to choose from for dining. Nearby drug store & grocery store. Movie theater as well.
Our son had a wrestling tournament at a local high school and we were looking for a place to stay nearby. The local chain hotel was completely booked, so we decided to try a bed & breakfast. Never having stayed at one before we were a little skeptical to book. So glad we did! The house & owners were great! Our room was warm & cozy for a cold, snowy night. The view was fantastic! If you're looking for modern this is not the place for you. But if you want a clean, quite place to stay, with a great breakfast, this will do quite nicely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Mick and Maggie took great care of us during our stay. This is a beautiful mansion with period appointed furniture and detail. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem, go find it and enjoy

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Relaxing comfort in a very hard time to relax, step back in time
Cons: Nothing really but wish they had a liquor license versus byob
Location: canal house for dinner, just relax
Gold room was lovely, I am not so much a b&b person nor is my wife, these owners really get it and you will unwind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Outstanding bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Mik and Magie are doing huge effort to render your visit in their exiting home pleasant. The location of the hotel and its history make the stay very special. Highly recommended if you look for a unique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Stay at a true mansion

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The impressive setting in a magnificent castle from the late 19th century.
Cons: You do share bathrooms, but that is the nature of the house.
Location: Near Herkimer (canal rides) and Cooperstown with lots to go there. But go for the stay in the mansion, not necessarily for the activities.
Unlike B and Bs where you sometimes feel stuck in the bedroom of the kid that just moved out, this is truly an historic mansion and a B and B with great character. The hosts are friendly and informative, all the rooms have GREAT views, and the 19th century mansion is an architectural masterpiece. It is still being restored, but the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast cooked to order, and the setting magnificent. Go out of your way a bit to the little town of Little Falls, NY, and stay the night. You won't regret it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A special visit to a setting from America's past

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overlook Mansion is a very special property, confirmed by the tour that the gracious owners were happy to give. Indeed, it would rank alongside a number of paid-admission tourist sites. Getting to stay in a room in such a place was a total pleasure--I would even say a privilege! The beauty of the late nineteenth century home, especially the original woodwork, is stunning. The setting is convenient, majestic, and very private. The owners prepare a very satisfying made-to-order full breakfast each day. Two things prospective visitors need to be aware of, though, are the necessary use of both exterior (rather steep) and interior steps, and the fact that the guest floor is set up in a way that some guests may have to share a bath. This is not clear on the Hotels.com site, which should be revised accordingly. However, the owners graciously made sure that our expectations for a private bath were met. Altogether, it was a delightful stay, and we would be happy to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Wonderful people and amazing breakfast. Perfect spot for hopping to Cooperstown while staying out of the direct HOF craziness.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Central New York

Wonderful romantic getaway in beautiful mansion

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The owners are very friendly and hospitable, take very good care of their guests. Gave us a tour of the beautifully restored historic mansion. The breakfast was wonderful! They were very accommodating!