Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica, NY

Misleading

Posted Nov 17, 2017
When booking a room through Expedia, I was guaranteed a king size room through the site (both times I've booked here), however, the standard double room is what is actually booked with the hotel. I realized this as I was at the check-in counter and double checked my confirmation... The girl was absolutely correct, I booked a king, and the final confirmation was a double room... Expedia is a little misleading and shady at times... But the hotel is fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Good hotel in this attractive city, even though it is under remodeling. It is friendly and comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, but not worth the price we paid.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff. Clean, comfortable beds, lots of space in room.
Cons: Showing its age - renovations should help. For current condition, lower price would be more appropriate. Clean the tub/tiles better, renovate bath..
Location: Did not explore.Close to interstate, so convenient for travel.
Staff was courteous and very helpful, but hotel and surrounding area were a little worn out. We didn't like parking in the city ramp, even though it was free for hotel guests. Shower needs more attention from housekeeping. Hotel is undergoing major renovation, so things should improve. I felt the price for the room was about twice as high as what it was worth. I expected a top-notch, super clean room for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing candid feedback. I am pleased that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. I am also very happy that you found our staff to be helpful. Our team takes great pride in providing pristine accommodations and outstanding service. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with the current condition of the property. As you know, the hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation which will completely update every aspect of the building. We are very excited by the progress being made and sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us during future visits to the Utica area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Older but renovated hotel within a short walk to several restaurants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: did not like at all.
Did not get room we had reserved. The door would not lock at all, had to be repaired. The room had a bad smell. Lot of noise from party.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were displeased with your stay. The management and staff of this hotel strive to ensure the satisfaction of all of our guests. We will challenge ourselves to better accommodate guests such as yourself in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brewerton, ny

Its convenient to the Adirondack railroad station

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The staff was great. The room was just okay. The toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall and the shower curtain was ripped. But the bed and pillows were very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Stayed for wedding. Serve at wedding was great. Upper floors under construction at the moments. Most staff very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Rooms

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Renovate the hotel
First we arrived to our room that had no sofa bed, and a hole in the wall. The window didn't face outside it was facing inside over the restaurant. We asked to be moved to another room. The second room had peeling wallpaper and mold under the window and the door would not lock at all. I asked for maintenance and when they checked it they said they would need to locate a battery and offered us a third room. The third room had water stains on the ceiling, missing hair dryer and the bathrooms are very tiny. They only had one coffee pod in the room and when I went to the front desk they said they were all out.Also the carpet in the hallways were stained and buckled up. I could have stayed at a 1 star motel for this kind of accommodations and it would have been a lot cheaper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were displeased with the quality of your guest room. There is no excuse for you to have been placed in a room without a hair dryer or with just one coffee "pod" for the coffee maker. Futhermore, there is no excuse for us to run out of an item such as this. I can assure you that I will address this with my team members. I am pleased to inform you that the hotel is currently undergoing a renovation which will completely update every aspect of the hotel. I am certain that during future visits you will find the accommodations to be far superior of any other hotel in the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just passing through

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: clean
The room was very clean. Furnishings updated, bed comfort++++++++, staff accommodating. Overall, very satisfied. Would not hesitate to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Inconsistent

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for an overnight stopover.
Cons: See review.
Location: Some nice cafes and a bagel shop have opened up. However, downtown Utica remains pretty much a dead zone on weekends.
Our first stay the room hadn't been properly cleaned. Found someone's knickers under a hall table. Gave it another try this year and no issues with housekeeping or the room, but room service takes a very liberal definition of "6 a.m." for breakfast. It was about 90 minutes late, so would have been faster to check out and go to a restaurant. Nobody at room service answered when we called to ask what was up, and took two calls to front desk to get through. Even then, when they said it was "on its way up," we got a call 10 minutes later from the guy actually bringing it to let us know he was actually finally on his way. I think we may give Utica a skip next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! I am very sorry that there was an issue with the room service. There is absolutely no excuse for that to have taken the time that you indicated in your review. I can assure you that this is an aberration and that I will immediately address this with our Food and Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef. I very sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us during a future visit to the Utica area.