Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Rooms

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Renovate the hotel
First we arrived to our room that had no sofa bed, and a hole in the wall. The window didn't face outside it was facing inside over the restaurant. We asked to be moved to another room. The second room had peeling wallpaper and mold under the window and the door would not lock at all. I asked for maintenance and when they checked it they said they would need to locate a battery and offered us a third room. The third room had water stains on the ceiling, missing hair dryer and the bathrooms are very tiny. They only had one coffee pod in the room and when I went to the front desk they said they were all out.Also the carpet in the hallways were stained and buckled up. I could have stayed at a 1 star motel for this kind of accommodations and it would have been a lot cheaper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were displeased with the quality of your guest room. There is no excuse for you to have been placed in a room without a hair dryer or with just one coffee "pod" for the coffee maker. Futhermore, there is no excuse for us to run out of an item such as this. I can assure you that I will address this with my team members. I am pleased to inform you that the hotel is currently undergoing a renovation which will completely update every aspect of the hotel. I am certain that during future visits you will find the accommodations to be far superior of any other hotel in the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just passing through

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: clean
The room was very clean. Furnishings updated, bed comfort++++++++, staff accommodating. Overall, very satisfied. Would not hesitate to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Inconsistent

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for an overnight stopover.
Cons: See review.
Location: Some nice cafes and a bagel shop have opened up. However, downtown Utica remains pretty much a dead zone on weekends.
Our first stay the room hadn't been properly cleaned. Found someone's knickers under a hall table. Gave it another try this year and no issues with housekeeping or the room, but room service takes a very liberal definition of "6 a.m." for breakfast. It was about 90 minutes late, so would have been faster to check out and go to a restaurant. Nobody at room service answered when we called to ask what was up, and took two calls to front desk to get through. Even then, when they said it was "on its way up," we got a call 10 minutes later from the guy actually bringing it to let us know he was actually finally on his way. I think we may give Utica a skip next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! I am very sorry that there was an issue with the room service. There is absolutely no excuse for that to have taken the time that you indicated in your review. I can assure you that this is an aberration and that I will immediately address this with our Food and Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef. I very sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us during a future visit to the Utica area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Wasn't there long but was pieceful and the music from Ocean Blue wasn't as bad as I thought.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

O.k. hotel for Utica, but slim picking here.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
If you need to stay in Utica N.Y., may as well stay here. There's an indoor pool and its a safe location with covered parking, but it's not a 4 or 5 star hotel. Maybe a high 3 since it is safe and had a pool. That said, desperately in need of a rehab, however, the first thing you'll see is probably the parking garage. While safe and secure, it has a completely glass sided large office right by the entrance that is trashed, full of trash and by the dust it's obviously not been touched/cleaned in a year? More. Not a good first impression. Actually, horrible impression. Fire the maintenance crew, the rest of the staff was delightful. But for maintenance, I'd give it a 4.25. It'll never be a 5, ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable hotel in good location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I stayed one night with my daughter. We had a room with 2 double beds. The room was very big, clean and comfortable. We didn't hear any noises from other rooms or hallway. The bathroom was a little small, which is the only gripe I had. We ordered room service in the morning, which was great. My daughter loved the indoor pool. The parking was $7 for the stay, but we were able to come and go as we pleased and the garage was convenient. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I'd definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in serious need of updating!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Curtains were shredded; wallpaper peeling; lamps plugged into extension cords…serious need of updating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
I am pleased to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation beginning in less than two weeks. This renovation will update every aspect of the hotel. I very sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future so that you can enjoy our completely renovated hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had a very nice pool and bar breakfast was good service was good !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uttica NY

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pool was really dirty, bathroom too small, food way overpriced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 day stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The overall experience was pleasant but some of the facilities left a lot to be desired. The pool in particular was neglected and we were afraid to use it. The staff we dealt with were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accomadate us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing candid feedback regarding your stay. I am very pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and accommodating. I am sorry that you found the pool to be neglected. There certainly is no need to be fearful of using it as it is inspected three times each day by our staff and (in accordance with county and state guidelines) regularly by the municipalities and Department of Health. I am pleased to say that the pool is a wonderful area in the hotel to gather to enjoy a swim and we often host pool parties. I very sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future and that you will enjoy a swim in the pool!