Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brockport, NY

Older hotel, few amenities, over priced

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located; very clean, nonsmoking, free Wi-Fi.
Location: Herkimer is only about 10 mins away; Cooperstown about 50 mins. Downtown Utica nearby with restaurants.
The hotel is conveniently located, right off NYS Thruway - small, only 16-20 rooms. While Wi-Fi is provided, room & bathroom were very small & outdated, ex. only electric outlet in bathroom was located high up on the side of the bathroom light. No coffee maker in room; frig on top of dresser. Free breakfast consisted of white bread, English muffins, bananas, orange juice & coffee. We rate staff as a 1 because of an unacceptable incident with the proprietor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Boilermaker weekend.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The staff is very nice and friendly.
Cons: The air conditioner didn't work that well, but luckily it wasn't too hot outside so opening the window worked better than the AC.
Location: It's close to the Thruway entrance, and a quick drive to the downtown area.
A nice hotel for the amount you're spending. Most hotels gouge you over Boilermaker weekend, but the rates for this one were fair. The room was nice and clean, I had no complaints. The staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
by Jose

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very clean. Convenienty located next to I 90 entrance.
1 out of 5
by Meghan

Possibly the filthiest hotel in Utica

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
I am not very picky about cheap hotels. I just want someplace to nap and take a shower. This place managed to not meet even my very low standards. The whole thing smelled like cigarettes in spite of all of the NO SMOKING signs. I think they scrub the carpet with a dirtier carpet. And the soap was dirty. How can the soap be dirty? The soap packages were covered in sticky brown spots. Not a good look. The only good points about this place were the Denny's right over the bridge and the easy walk to the train station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse ever!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
No light in bathroom Smell as soon as u enter building No breakfast as all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks aren't everything

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very small, the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The area was less so, but convenient. It's right off of the freeway and near downtown. The hallway and entry door to the room is small. Parking isn't convenient. The hotel is a little run down, but the bedding was comfortable. Despite photos and area, I felt safe the whole time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoked out in Utica

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
My two night stay was made uncomfortable by a permanent smoking smell which permeated the halls, public areas and my room, despite it being a non smoking room. When I first entered the room, it did not have a strong smoking odor, however as time went on it did. Perhaps the smoke entered under the door. The facility was not in the best condition. However my room, especially the bathroom was satisfactory. The motel is located in a nondescript part of town, cheek by jowl to garages, a few other motels, service stations and not much else in between. As it is close to several freeway exchanges, there was substantial road noise filtering into the room from about 5am. I have no complaints with the managers/owners who were cognizant of the smell, as on one occasion when I returned to my room, the halls were icy cold as the hall doors which open out to the environment were open in an unsuccessful attempt to air out the motel. This second point was not conducive to feeling safe or secure as anyone from the outside could have taken advantage of the situation and entered the the hotel without a key.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Gross

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Dirty n smoking man was rude
Location: Saranac brewery is beautiful l
Would have stayed anywhere else if could get a hotel that night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Bed and pillows where hard. Room was clean. The staff was really friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better choices out there.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Old lumpy mattress, and minimally adequate A/C. Room was very musty. Never able to get on Internet. Breakfast was coffee and mini-sticky bun or plain toast.