Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice neighbourhood hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A fantastic hotel. Our room was beautiful (we had our own patio) and comfortable. We rented bikes from the hotel but the city centre is easily walkable. Staff was friendly and helpful. The cozy lobby was the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfast offered lots of fresh choices. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Venezuela

Nice and comfortable Hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast... The coffee machine was excellent...
Cons: everythings were ok
Location: There were two bus stops near the hotel and you can be at downtown in less than 15 min. In a few minutes walking you can find foods places
The hotel was very nice. We had a large room for three guest The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel staff was very polite and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parachute, Colorado

Great location and wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: View and charm
Location: Walked most everywhere yet rented bikes one day to get all around.
We were very busy dropping off our daughter for her year of study abroad at the College there yet loved the location and comfort/safety of our stay. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base for short stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
A short distance from city centre, although perfect for us as family nearby. In a nice, quiet neighborhood. Clearly recently refurbished, so facilities clean and modern. Our room was quite small and lacked any proper storage, so unable to unpack. Bathroom was cramped. However, bed comfortable and power shower good. Would stay again but would chose a bigger room. Breakfast available but didn't partake.
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Charming and in up-to-the-minute condition

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
It's my second time there, and a favorite hotel. Great location and at the same time on a quiet side street. The staff is always especially cheerful and helpful, and the rooms are really nicely appointed -- both the lobby and the rooms are quite charming, and none of it feels like the standard commercial hotel. Quite the opposite: it has the feeling of a small old world European hotel that is in 21st century condition -- and at the same time the rooms are comfortably sized with beautiful surroundings. My only complaint was that the wifi is sometimes terrific and fast -- especially on the first day or two of my stay -- and then painfully slow for most of the rest of my stay, which was 6 days.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brian

2 sides to our stay...

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
2 sides to this review.... Part 1 (location and general hotel)... The hotel is in a fantastic location, a short walk from the centre of Utrecht which you can do using various routes for those that like some variety! More importantly its within 5 mins walk of loads of coffee shops, local bars and places to eat that vary from pricey to cheap. Not quite sure what people were meaning about nothing close by, as there is a coffee shop not 20 metres from the front door!! The bars on the walks into town are all full of locals ( easy to tell as the menus are only in dutch ) something we always appreciate when we are travelling. The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel reception was clean and classy. Mention the hotel to locals and they are all familiar with it. Part 2 (the room)... When we first walked into the room we were a little surprised as to the size of the room, totally understand that photos are taken to compliment a hotel, but the room was shall we say much smaller than we were expecting it to be!. Some clever work been done on the camera angles for the photos me thinks!! Don't get me wrong it wasn't miniscule, but if your a couple get used to living on top of each other!. We also stayed whilst it was 30+ degrees and unfortunately the air-con wasn't up to the job!! The staff did try to get this fixed, but it was an uncomfortable 2 nights sleep, just too warm in the room. On a plus - have to say the bathroom was fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your review. Really good to hear you loved the location, the surroundings of the hotel and the staff. Thank you!! Regarding part 2 of your review we are very sorry about the dysfunctionality of the air-co.... We phoned the air-co technician immediately and hoped it was solved quickly, but unfortunately we had to phone him the next day again. Luckily for us it's working again, but during your stay it was indeed very warm. We are so, so sorry for the inconvenience caused by this warmth.. We do have bigger rooms indeed. Some of the Standard rooms are pretty small, the Superiors and Executive rooms are more spacious and are recommended for two persons for a longer stay. We certainly hope to see you again to our hotel! Kind regards, Sharon Wijnands Malie Hotel Utrecht
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and great value

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We weren't as close to the old town area as we had hoped, but it was an easy 15 minute walk so we didn't end up disappointed at all. Very comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet location

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly and rooms were comfortable and quite well furnished. Good bathroom facilities with plenty of hot water.
Cons: The breakfast was a bit expensive and the sliced cheese was unappetising (especially considering that Dutch cheese is so famous).
A pleasant and friendly hotel in a quiet part of Utrecht. Transport link to the city centre is good with a bus stop a short walk away but, apart from check in/check out we preferred to walk into town (it's only about 20 minutes). The hotel is situated in a leafy side street away from heavy traffic.
5 out of 5
by Cian

Great location, helpfull staff!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and it is located very close to public transport routes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Malie Hotel! We hope to welcome you back at our hotel someday. Kind regards, Sanne Overkamp | Front Office Malie Hotel