Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Comfortable

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Room, Quietness, Breakfast, Location (very close to the station and sight scenery places)
Cons: Not specific
Location: Very close to Utrecht station, you can enjoy shopping, biking, and site seeing.
I arrived around mid night but the staff shows heart warming welcome to us. Room was tide, very comfortable, and quite. I've never recognized our room is just next to the railway until I got up and saw out of the window since it was too quiet and calm (lol). Breakfast quality is high. My friend and I stayed only one night but I would love to stay more night when we visit this site next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review with us, we really appreciate this and we will share your review with our team with pride. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Lovely hotel quite expensive but lovely staff who were very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear vickey, We would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review with us, we really appreciate this. We will share your review with pride with our team. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

It's a scam.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This hotel is charging 4-star prices for 1-star, unsanitary accommodations. There was a pubic hair stuck to my shower head when I checked in. The carpet in my room was packed with dirt, dust, and dozens of stains. The furniture had chips and cracks, and it was covered in a visible layer of dust, too. The towels were stained. The wall had weird drippy stains. The air conditioning vent was, like everything else, covered in dust. My throat was sore by check-out day. Sometimes they gave me 3 towels for the day, sometimes 4. They didn't refill the toiletries if I only used 1/2 a bottle; they just put it back in the row. When I used a glass for water, they didn't wash it, they just put it back in place. They didn't replace the sheets. They didn't always take out the trash. What did they do when they cleaned? My feeling is: this place is losing money and trying to pinch pennies everywhere it can. There is an empty minibar in the room -- yes, empty! You have to ask for the items you want, get charged, then have your drink. In the meantime, you get a mini-fridge that isn't quite cold enough to store food safely. Their "business center" is a computer and printer in the corner. If you want to print more than one page, you need permission and they charge you. Breakfast is €20. Delicious bread, yogurt, sausages, bacon, cheese, and mini muffins. They have a machine that makes nice euro-size espresso drinks. That was good. And the lobby was pleasant. But seriously: don't come here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by mmeeues, Hotel Management
Dear Jesse, Thank you for the time you took to write this review, good or bad it is very important to us. Please be so kind to contact me personally as I am very curious in which room you stayed. Concerning your comments about the business center, printing is free of charge till 15 pages, we had some troubles with the printer but they are solved now. The Hotel is equipped with minibar, they cool a little but are no fridges. Thank you for the sent picture, the stains are indeed not good, it are bleach stains unfortunately this cannot be removed anymore. At this moment we started the renovation of a sample room which is ready next Monday (31.07.2017) and the full renovation is starting in November. My sincere apology for your negative experience. I hope you are able to contact me. With kind regards Michel Meeues Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location, close to the train station.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Good overall. Utrecht is a small city and it's easy to walk around from the hotel to city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, We would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review with us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
3 out of 5
by Anthonie

could be better

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
for just one night it was ok. Lot of roadworks in the area currently. Seems only level 1 & 2 are up to date rooms. Room though was clean, but value for money was just average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Anthonie, We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us, we appreciate your feedback. It is correct that there are a lot of constructions around the hotel. For now it is a struggle but we are sure the situation will improve. The 1st and 2nd floor are updated rooms. There are renovation plans to start with in the near future with the rest of the rooms. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
5 out of 5
by Rita

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Rita, We would like to thank you for rating your stay, we really appreciate this. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We would like to thank you for rating your stay, we really appreciate this. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
by Zubaida

Good hotel in a temporary construction zone

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
There is a lot of construction in the area around hotel and the hotel itself is also older yet still comfortable and gracious. They have a great restaurant and bar. The hotel is very close to Utrecht train station, very close to down town Utrecht and shopping and restaurants. The best thing about the hotel is its great staff. They are very nice and go the extra mile to support and help you. A good operation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Zubaida, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us. It is very nice to hear your that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your comment about the staff, thank you. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, just could have had more than one person working on reception at any one time as it meant if you were behind someone checking in it was a bit slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. It is nice to see you had a great stay. We would like to apologize for the slow check in. We will discuss this with the team. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards, Luca Esseling
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location for Utrecht and Utrecht train station. However there is a drug centre next door so you can expect druggies outside the hotel. As for the rooms, they are dirty as ****!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by michel meeues, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services. Unfortunately you quoted a few items as not sufficient, we apologize for that and will discuss your review within the management team. At this moment we are planning a renovation of the rooms, we hope we can start with this soon. On behalf of our entire staff here we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. With kind regards, Luca Esseling