Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient location near station

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: The works surrounding the hotel make for a hazardous walk from the station.
Location: All restaurants and bars are close by as is the station.
I have stayed in this hotel several times as it is convenient for the station and the town centre. The reception staff are very good and helpful. The rooms are OK but need renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us. We really appreciate your comment about the staff. There are renovation plans made and hopefully we can start with this soon. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to downtown but construction around hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Good hotel in walking distance of Utrecht Central Station and downtown. Last part of walking path to hotel can be confusing, especially when you're not used to cross heavily used bicycle paths (both directions zip by). This is due to construction around the train station and the hotel. Staff was superfriendly and very accommodating. I had to make two separate bookings for two consecutive nights because of last minute change in travel plans. Staff made sure I could stay in the same room, very convenient. Lobby had a nasty smell (sewer? Due to construction and storms?). Smell was not in room, neither in restaurant area. Room was spacious, good bed and linens, bathrobe. Good shower, hot. No bath tub. Little outdated and rundown carpet, but they are renovating rooms. Stayed for two nights. Bed was made after first night, got new bottle of water but my towels on the floor weren't replaced (I didn't sign up for the environment program they have: discount or donation to good cause when you want cleaning services skipped during your stay. Good initiative by the way!) I had double towels as I traveled alone so decided not to make a fuss about it. Buffet-style breakfast was good, but price is little bit steep IMHO (20 euros). Guess I've gotten used too much to the motels and hotels with free breakfast in the USA ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear DurchieSF, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us about your stay. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services. Thank you for your nice comment about our staff, we really appreciate this. We forwarded your comment about the cleaning service to our housekeeping supervisor, we apologize for the inconvenience. We are trying to resolve the problem with the smell as soon as possible. On behalf of our entire staff here we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for rating your stay. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Staff are brilliant and very welcoming. Breakfast is great
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, We would like to thank you for sharing this nice review with us, we really appreciate this. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling Shiftleader
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Racism alive and well in Utrecht :)

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
if you're in the mood to experience racism and aren't 6 feet tall with blue eyes, this is the place for you! Are you a woman who feels like having the hotel accuse you of smoking in your room because you blew out your not-blonde-straight hair? definitely come here. want to be minimised and practically ignored when you try and explain you blew your hair out in the room? This is the place you're looking for. Want to be miserable trying to find this place because it's behind the station and you have to walk a maze to get to it? Definitely choose this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We will discuss you review with the management team. With kind regards, Luca Esseling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Negatives: Aging interior in the room. Lots of water spill on the floor when showering. Coffee at breakfast did not taste good. Positives: Central location. Easy to find. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us about your stay. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services. There are plans for renovating the rooms, hopefully we can start with this soon. Concerning your comment about coffee, we forwarded this to the F&B manager. Hopefully we may welcome you in the near future. With kind regards, Luca Esseling Shiftleader
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay! Hope to come back!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay - so close to the train station and the old town. Good variety of breakfast food, very helpful staff. The only very tiny downside was that I didn't have a bath in my room - but my colleague did so I guess you can ask for that. I really liked it that they offered the option not have your room cleaned and linen changed to save the environment - and they donated money to charity if you chose this option. I really appreciated that because so many hotels make a claim that they care for the environment and won't change towels - and then they change your towels every day. Which is very annoying!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, We would like to thank you for sharing this nice review with us, we really appreciate this. Please let us know for next time, then we block you a room with a bath tub. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Michel Meeues
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated room but all you need is there

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room is dated but it has all you need. Expensive parking facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us. On behalf of our entire staff here we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! With kind regards, Luca Esseling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good centrally located hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and room service menus were good
Cons: Better wifi needed for power users. Add some signage in the station for people who want to find their way to the hotel.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby (10-15 min walk), Utrecht central station (5-10 walk)
Feels smaller than it is. The rooms are well appointed and the room service selection is quite good compared to other similar hotels in the area. Due to construction works around the hotel at the time I stayed, it was slightly more difficult to get there. Normally about a 5-10 walk from the central station. I did have some wifi issues during my stay (but I have high requirements for work needs), normal users will probably find the service sufficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Luca Esseling, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your review with us. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services. We will discuss your review within the management team. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future! With kind regards, Luca Esseling Shiftleader Park Plaza Utrecht
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable bed, great bathroom but bedrooms are tired and need an uplift
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for rating your stay. This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services. We have renovation plans for in the near future, hopefully we can start with this this. On behalf of our entire staff here we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! With kind regards, Luca Esseling Shiftleader Park Plaza Utrecht