Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Had a very good overall experience at the Royal orchid beach resort and spa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

its good hotel with great outdoor atmosphere

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: outdoor atmosphere and hotel is conveniently located near beach.
Cons: customer relation.
Its okay hotel for the amount they charged, staff is not as friendly as expected, they can certainly improve customer relation. They have good breakfast menu but food quality is not great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

This is the first bad review I've ever given :-(

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Awful, how this is classed as 5 star is beyond me! Unhappy, unhelpful & even rude staff, outdated, scruffy room, bathroom dirty, fridge broken. But the worst has to be the swimming pool ... many broken tiles on the floor of the pool, which I didn't notice until after I badly cut my foot on them! After the wound had been treated I expected someone to come and aplogise for the injury, no one cared & I was just told they couldn't mend the broken tiles as they were too busy, 2 other guests that day were injured by broken tiles, it's dangerous & totally unacceptable that they are aware of the serious problem but do nothing more than patch up injured guests as oppose to mending the badly damaged pool?! This hotel needs closing down immediately & fully refurbishing to a safe standard before anyone else should have to waste their money staying here!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
the hotel rooms could be cleaned to a higher standard, the cost for the rooms does not reflect the level, its too much to pay, they food was outstanding
2 out of 5
by Tony

Disappointed

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is not a five star hotel. If you had travelled any distance to get here you would have been sorely disappointed, There was only one restaurant not 3 as described. the so called golf course was a 3 hole pitch and putt and all 3 holes were within 150 metres at most and were not operational anyway. The room needed renovating and was not very clean with several cockroaches in the bathroom. the balcony overlooked a footpath and we did not once sit out as it was not a great view. On a more positive note the staff were helpful and friendly and the garden and pool were very nice. I felt that the description of the hotel requires updating and the 5 star rating is not warrented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Close to the beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Loved this resort! Will definitely be returning! The staff was very friendly and attentive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms, good property

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very Small rooms. Sliding doors to balcony are old and need tremendous strength to slide open or shut. Hotels website advertises the room as Club room but the room is anything but club size so do not get fooled by the name. We had requested for a double bed but they joined 2 single beds to make a dbl bed so my 4 year old daughter kept sliding in the gap between the beds as she slept. 2 telephones in the room and both were not working. there was no way to call for room service except to go to the balcony and exercise your vocal chords to see if any hotel staff is paying attention. On the flip side, good property, decent pool, good play area and a rain dance area for kids and great acces to the beach. Average food! Room is OK only for 2 adults without kids.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pune

This is not a five start hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Swimming pool with park
Cons: Everything should be improved
Location: NA
I checked in on 17th September to witnessed the worst experience of my life. below series of things happened to me 1. Hotel reception gave me twin bed room wherein i booked kingsize bed room. 2. The room given was having dirty towels, floor mats and has fungous grown inside the lamps. 3. AC was making annoying sound and was not working to give swing action. 4. AC was not maintain and has fungous grown inside as well giving bad smell. 5. Pillow covers were tore down and dirty too 5. on complaining they offered me another room which was smelling worst than previous one. 6. Finally they offered me Royal suit which has got old furniture and the same damp smell. 7. Children play area was pathetic and AC in that area was also not working. It was like 10 year old machine. 8. Staff was careless during my entire stay
2 out of 5
by Vishnu from Bangalore

musty rooms

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were first given a room that smelt musty and unkempt. Informed the front desk and received a slightly better room. Will certainly not go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Well suited family stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Overall Service
Clean , friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner ,close to airport and site seeing opportunities. I would stay there again ,no second thoughts .