Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top of the world

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 + star all the way , this is top of the world !
5 out of 5
by Marie from Ohio

Best vacation we've ever taken!!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We came here on our honeymoon and were completely blown away. After a long day of traveling, we were immediately greeted by a friendly staff with hot towels, and our stresses immediately dissolved. The staff here is the most accommodating and loving group of people I could ever imagine - they went out of their way with various surprises (room upgrade, a night in the spa to ourselves with a hot bath and dessert, a bottle of champagne in our room, breakfast on the roof overlooking the oceans and being amongst the birds) to make our trip very special. We spent about half the days by the pool, where the staff members would make us their favorite drinks, and we loved just chatting with them all, learning about the local culture, and hearing all of their stories. The other half of the trip, we went snorkeling, hiking, and horseback riding - three fabulous excursions! I cannot say enough great things about this place but we're already psyched to come back for another trip to Kura! HIGHLY recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Eco tourism as it should be done

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel, and particularly the design of the room and the shower, the food, and the proximity to the beautiful wildlife.
Kurà and its people are remarkable. It is difficult to be brief; we had a very rich experience. Room/Architecture: The ocean view is indeed the paramount feature of all six rooms, and the wildlife—mostly beautiful birds—is right there outside your balcony. Beautiful design and architecture as well. Food: Delicious. As a vegetarian, I wanted more days to try all the options, and my carnivore husband was equally well served. Staff: Exceptionally skilled, wonderful people. All efforts to provide privacy were invested, when we wanted privacy, and all efforts to provide cultural context and information were also invested, when we wanted those. Sustainable practices: Comfort and luxury are not at odds with sustainable practices at Kurà. Solar energy, on-site greenhouse and local fare all power and provide for the place.The owners and staff clearly take pride in their efforts, yet there’s no “preachy” atmosphere (as I have experienced in other places). Because of the beauty of the natural and human-made environments and the warmth of the people, few places beckon you back like Kurà. Go as soon as you can and be prepared to miss it afterwards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just stunning

Posted Aug 14, 2015
It's rare that any place is more beautiful than the pictures but kura certainly is. Resting atop a mountain, kura offers 360 degrees of stunning views and that's just the beginning. Inside the villas is nothing short of spectacular. Somehow they've achieved their mission of providing eco friendly sustainable residents without sacrificing even the smallest luxuries. Also, the attentive staff and food just put this place and the experience over the top. Truly unforgettable. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

You want to stay here!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
What a magnificent place with an incredible view. The staff was WONDERFUL! They made me feel like I was staying in the home of the most hospital person I have ever met. Everything has been thought through. When we wanted to go exploring the beaches, they stocked our car with towels, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler with water, and directions to their private beach. When I got up early one morning for a swim, they brought coffee and beautiful fruit plate to my pool chair. This is the perfect place to watch the sunset! I could go on and on. You want to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Losuisana

First Class in Costa Rica

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Architecture was awesome. The view of Playa Ballena at 1,100 feet was spectacular.
Location: Long drive from San Jose airport - 3 1/2 - 4 hrs but on very good road. Rain forest was a full day trip and worth it
This is a beautiful property and is first class. The villa we stayed in was beautiful with Toucans outside our room every morning. The staff is exceptional and took care of everything from arranging transportation, day trips, reservations, etc.Exclusive and restful. Would be nice to have more to do on property. We were there for 7 nights and would recommend a stay of 4-5 days unless you really are looking to veg out, read a book and enjoy an incredible property and view
5 out of 5
by Harry from Santa Monica, CA

Exquisite other-worldly experience

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
One of the greatest hotel experiences we've ever had anywhere in the world (and we've stayed at places large and small in over 40 countries). The stunning modern design somehow blends perfectly with the incredible greens of the natural surroundings. The staff could not be more friendly, attentive, and accommodating, with several surprises that I won't spoil by revealing. The extremely bumpy 3km. drive up to Kura from the main highway only magnifies the sense of being in another world above it all. Let them do the driving - if you have a rental, park it at the bottom and they will gladly pick you up. There are only six guestrooms each with a private terrace: two infinity suites in the main building under the infinity pool (the largest rooms and terraces), and two junior suites on the ground floor and two suites on the upper floor of the two neighboring buildings. The junior suites are slightly smaller than the others but being on the ground floor puts you that much closer to nature. Each room has a rain shower with a glass wall to the outside that opens. The fourth building houses a small but beautiful spa. They plan on adding two more guestrooms in 2016. The dining area is covered but open on one side to the infinity pool and amazing unobstructed view of the coastline and on the other to the mist-shrouded mountains. All our meals were excellent, with abundant fresh fruit and fish the highlights. It takes some getting to, but once you're there, you won't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel ,great view, staff is wonderfull

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Unbelievable pool,jungle view from room. Spotted toucans,colorfull frogs,gras hoppers and several colorfull butterflies Grounds are full of tropical flowers
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spectacular hotel - secluded, romantic and amazing

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic! The best small hotel I've ever stayed at. The rooms are huge, beautifully designed, have large private balconies, and are extremely comfortable. The hotel is very isolated, far up the mountains from the beach and is only accessible by 4WD, but absolutely worth it for the views and the place itself. Excellent food and service as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Simply the most amazing hotel we have ever been too. The views from this hotel cannot be beat. Amazing staff and hotel. Very private and with only 6 villas it is a very very very relaxed atmosphere. Consider this a must if you are in Costa Rica without kids.