Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but the driveway is really bad

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Cons: driveway
beautiful location high in the forest with gorgeous views. unfortunately, the unpaved driveway is ca. 2 miles long and very! steep. also quite pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing and stunning.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Couldn't say enough about this breathtaking place. The staff went above and beyond. They even located a sloth up in the trees the last day I was there, knowing I desperately wanted to see one. The food was generous, healthy and yummy. I will definitely recommend and be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJO

BEST TIME EVER AT RANCHO PACIFICO

Posted Apr 26, 2016
My boyfriend and I just got back from the most romantic long weekend at RP imaginable. Friends in San Jose have been recommending it for years - and now we know why. The food, ambiance and service are second to none - certainly in CR. The staff is super friendly and accommodating - but professional as well. We already miss the care they gave us. Perhaps what stands out most (beside the view, natural beauty and exquisite design) is the fresh sushi created and served by master sushi chef Hudson. We indulged in it every night - the freshest ever.... Can't wait to g back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

As close to heaven you can imagine

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The staff, the inspiring views, the private hiking trails - and the organic food!
Cons: We wish the days were a little longer
Location: Lots of beaches to explore, great hiking trails, and intense nature including wildlife sightings galore - right on the property.
Everything about Rancho Pacifico is unique -- and much of it is one of a kind. It was heaven for us because it is peaceful, beautiful beyond belief and is fully staffed by professionals that make you feel at home. We drank in the views, the solitude -- and a few cocktails (all fresh, creative and fairly priced). We had a private BBQ by a secret waterfall, the best spa treatments ever in the most amazing setting, and met fabulous people (some of which were there for the 3rd or 4th time). Chef Hudson prepared fresh sushi for us in our villa - and it was probably the best we ever had. Manager Alex and Concierge Karla attended to everything. It's important to realize that RP is not a budget hotel - it is one of the most awarded small hotels in the world which is one of the reasons we chose it. As such it is certainly not cheap. But if you can afford it - or it's a special occasion - you will experience the royal treatment - and it is worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and quiet

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Three rugged miles from beach. Hotel transportation available but pricey. Activities at hotel limited to pool and hiking. Staff are very nice and helpful. Dinner menu could be simpler with fresh fish and veggies. Fruit and salad on request were outstanding.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from St. Paul, MN

Beautiful setting but would not stay again

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing setting up in the mountains. Incredible views and wildlife. All the staff were great. A couple reasons why we would not stay again. Because it's difficult to get to due to the hair raising drive, it's easiest to to have all meals there. However, food and drinks while good are really pricey. Do your research on tours as they like to book you on more expensive private tours. Ask if anyone else is going on the same tour as you at the same exact time so you have the option of sharing the tour and perhaps carpooling as the drive in and out of RP is stressful, especially for Nat Geo tour. Our room was way too hot at night for a comfortable sleep and they only provide one extra small fan, which doesn't help much if at all. Ask for a tall fan before you even arrive. Be aware of large bugs in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous getaway at Rancho Pacifico

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Especially loved the couples massage at the treetop spa - its very private looking over the jungle out to the sea....and the therapists were beyond ex
We live in San Jose and have been hearing about about RP for years as the perfect getaway for a busy couple to escape for a much needed break. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty - and never left the property for the couple of days we were there. There really was no need to. All of the meals - especially the special private dinner we had at poolside - were extraordinary. It was peaceful, dramatic and unlike any other hotel we've ever visited.....we think the best in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise Found!

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Loved it all - especially the views, peace, and hiking trails
Location: We saw whales close-up, had a great fishing day -- and walked a bunch of amazing beaches. Loved hiking out our door on private trails
Followed the advice of friends who have been raving about RP for several years and now understand what they were raving about! The food, service, cleanliness and hospitality are without doubt the best we have experienced in many travels around the world. And of course the feeling of retreating to a mountaintop in the rainforest overlooking the ocean is other worldly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow - One of a kind!

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: really love everything
3rd time at rancho pacifico- the best so far. A lot of imrovements, even though I didn't think they needed any! Super clean, great staff, fabulous food - amazing service.