Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice staff and hotel but rooms are really small

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Nice friendly staff
Cons: Road access and bigger rooms
Location: Very rural type of location
Nice hotrl but rooms are small and the road access to the hotel really narrow and full of pot holes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Friendly staff helped in getting taxi as well as breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in peaceful countryside setting

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Countryside setting so very peaceful.
Location: Set in countryside but only a short distance to the railway station so easy to get into London and direct to Wembley. Taxi was £7 to station
Very quick check in, reception staff really nice and friendly. They organised a taxi for us without hesitation. Bathroom was really clean and modern - looked like a recent refurb. Only a dew miles from station and only 11 minutes to get to Wembley.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Very noisy.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Arrived at the hotel, our room hadn't been prepared correctly. No twin beds. The room had no ventilation, so unbearably hot. The room was located next to the delivery area so woke each morning by delivery lorries and the rubbish collection. When I discussed matters with reception I was told, "that's what you get for the cheap room rate".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decidedly Average - Not a 4-star experience

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location was close to work.
Cons: See above. Comments that have been on previously have NOT been addressed despite platitudes. If you are refurbishing offer a discount for old rooms!
Location: Eat elsewhere at the Coy Carp.
Very disappointed in this stay especially as most of the issues have been raised in complaints on here before, the manager has responded but nothing seems to have changed, I doubt any reply to this will do anything. I was placed on the ground floor as a lone female, security of the windows is lacking with wobbly latches. No security latch on the door either. Awoken by cleaning service banging around before 8am, there is no "do not disturb" sign in the room so be prepared for an early start even if you are not working. Bathroom products were not replenished. The restaurant is not a 4-star having only three choices on a fixed menu, less than the range on the bar menu. The second evening I drove five minutes down the road to a wonderful little pub on the water called "The Coy Carp" I would recommend anyone to eat here rather than the hotel as it was cheaper, better food and better selection. Staff tried to charge me for the room when I had paid through Expedia so CHECK YOUR BILL THOROUGHLY BEFORE LEAVING! Finally, the "preauthorisation" on the card was not released meaning that had I not checked when I got home, the hotel would have taken a total of £270+208 that shouldn't have been taken. These seem to be system/management problems rather than staff problems, the staff were friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancs

Rural Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Some of the staff were very nice and helpful, whilst others couldn't be bothered.
Cons: Restaurant and bedroom cleaners need more training to a higher standard.
Location: The location is very rural and quite a nice setting to stay in
Unfortunately we caught this hotel on a bad day, it was ok but had lots of little faults that made our stay forgetable. ie Worst shower I've ever seen, Wifi was hard to get, TV kept pixelating, making it hard to watch, one shower gel between two people, only one drinking glass, second night we didn't get any. The bed wasn't made properly, just the top covers pulled over and straightened. Bar snack meals were below average, it shouldn't be that difficult to warm up a pie without burning it. Had to send some beer "bitter" back because of the taste, replacement lager was good. At breakfast even though we were in plenty of time, the staff told me there were no sausages or hash browns left they had all gone...sorry. So we had what was left, eventually a manager came over and said they would get some and apologised for the staffs lack of knowledge on the situation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Horrible

Posted May 23, 2016
Not even worth the money. In the middle of nowhere, small rooms, dirty tiny bathroom, dining room was dirty and smelly. Total nightmare, it was cheap but not even worth that money, so much nicer places to stay on England. Pictures are deceiving do not book!!!!!!!! Waste of money
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as hoped but still good

Posted May 6, 2016
Room smelt of damp. Condensation on window. No mini bar or ice bucket or even glasses in room? buffet dinner expensive so we had bar snacks which were OK breakfast ok. Beautiful grounds very secluded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Location and price were right at the time

Posted Dec 29, 2015
A bit tired someparts of this hotel. Could do with a bit of paint and scrunbbing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Great place to stay.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
We needed a place for a stopover near London. This was a gem of a place to find. Quiet, great facilities and overall a great experience. Highly recommended.