Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Charming hotel in picturesque village

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: I liked how friendly the staff were, who went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. The location was fantastic for getting into London.
Cons: I thought the room was a little small for the price, if a cooked breakfast was included then I think it would be fair.
Location: Buckinghamshire golf course is close, walks around Denham and a potential trip into London, with Rail Links less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, in a very quaint village. The staff were extremely friendly and went that extra mile to ensure our stay was great. Location wise it is fantastic to get into London, with a well connected train line a 10 minute walk away. Surrounded by countryside enabling a peaceful stay away from the City but with it still in reach, this place is perfect for a relaxing short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Last minute

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Nice pleasant staff , comfy beds, nice shower and although old and worldly retains it's character with charm .
Cons: no happy with it all
Location: Near A40 into London
Nice room and small village but pleasant stay and would use again if in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful village location but near civilisation

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The rooms.lovely and comfy beds.
Cons: The staff could have been warmer. Felt that the6ymust have had troublesome guests in the past and that they thought we would be the same.
Location: Fabulous. Lovely village setting yet close to civilisation.
Village was lovely, rooms were lovely. Couldn't understand why we had to pay for breakfast in advance. Didn't eat at the pub but could see it looked ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very easy going friendly hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Very nice hotel in a lovely village only 10am check out is a bit early but I never requested an extention so can't complain .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel close to the event we came to attend.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable with a fine modern bath. There was a nice bar and restaurant on the bottom floor. The beds were comfortable.
Cons: Refreshing the room, but we had a short stay and were in the room a lot during the day and they didn't want to interrupt us to refresh the room.
Location: Nice little English town with a pub and several stores.
We had a comfortable room in a small town close to where we were to attend a wedding. The manager made several accommodations for us to attend event functions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy bed, slightly rude manager.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The place was really quaint. The toilet was broken and the manager was a little rude, but other than that the bed was really comfortable and was close to a handful of restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used as a last resort - never again

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: its in a picturesque village. that's about it.
Cons: the rooms (or at least the one I stayed in) need completely renovating.
Whilst visiting a customer in the area on business, I left it rather late to book my accommodation, and my regular and all other nearby hotels were fully booked. As the next closest place, and seeing the good reviews, I decided to book in here for a night. Never again. I am sure that venues like this have their uses, but for someone travelling on business, used to 4 star hotels, this 4 star 'Inn' was not for me. The room was directly above a pub, and was tired to say the least. The room was decorated like my grandma's bedroom. Lamps were hanging off the walls, the carpet, bedding and blinds were dirty, marked or torn. The skirting and walls were heavily marked and in desperate need of redecoration. The furniture was seriously old and marked, and what amenities there were in the room look as if they had been sourced from the local skip! An old full size fridge standing next to the bed, and a small tv precariously resting on the window sill with wires hanging below. The only relief was when I realised that one of the wardrobe doors actually hid the 'bathroom'. My first thought was I would have to use a communal one assuming there wasn't one in the room! One thing I really struggle with is cleanliness in a hotel. And all I can say is when you pull back the duvet and see their are hairs in there before I've got in, then we have a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very english heritage hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
The staff was friendly, the breakfast english and the room very nice and tidy. Unfortunately on the weekend there was playing a band and we could not sleep very well, it was very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Close to M25 & National rail

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: I was expecting it to be noisy until after closing time. My first floor room & remarkably quiet as well as spacious. Evening food was excellent
Cons: Hot breakfasts don't start until 08.00
Location: On picturesque village green with 2 other pubs & Italian restaurant very close by.
Stayed 4 nights on Business trip. no chef after 18.00 on a Sunday
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Lovely village

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Cons: Lose the plug in scent. Beds could be firmer.
Comfortable rooms, very good food for dinner, and a lovely unexpected village just off the beaten path.