Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Steve from knutsford

awful bedroom.....not as advertised

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
we checked in at 3pm....our room was ready at 4.40!! THE CARPET WAS FILTHY ...i have photos....there were none of the facilities that were on the booking form.... there was a kettle no cups or coffee..no bathrobes. The room was advertised with coffee machine, bathrobes etc. thought the hotel...pool etc were lovely,,,,pity we didn't have the time to enjoy them or enjoy a half decent room...massive waste of money and felt very deflated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Close to Pont Du Guard. We did bit book in advance for an evening meal the hotel and the good restaurants in the town were booked too. We ate in the small tapas bar which was ok not great. Recommend you book ahead for meals the village seems to be a gastronomic centre.
4 out of 5
by Allan from nz

two couples

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
we arrived at 4pm and room not ready.asked us to wait for 30 minutes and would provide drinks.1.75 hours later and no drinks we complained and we're told rooms available.we were travelling as 2 couples. our room was half size of friends and was awful. asked to be changed and we were shown a far more suitable room. they did provide a free drink with dinner that was lovely-after asking for it. rooms inconsistent so check what getting . found the staff very good but managers indifferent. hotel beautiful (except for some rooms)special location with beautiful guest areas.but expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful, atmospheric hotel on top of the world

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Location: Bicycle using hotel bikes to the nearly Pont du Gard Roman aqueduct.
A lovely hotel, perched in a small atmospheric village on top of a hill looking down on the world. Extremely high standard of common areas and rooms, with great service everywhere. Food in restaurant very French, with subtle flavours and miniscule portions - not much pizzazz, but very nice in its own way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Gem in a crown village

Posted May 12, 2016
off the main roads in a beautiful village this hotel sits up a windy little street.Its surrounding,decore and views are like a fairytale. Serene and creamy white interior greets you along with an very attentive friendly staff.The food is delicious,a place I will return to again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful
Location: It is 20 minutes from Pont du Gard and 30 minutes to Avignon.
It's peaceful and relaxing in a beautiful and historic setting. They have an excellent restaurant as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels
Le Vieux Castillon is in one of the most beautiful ancient villages that is close to Avignon, Uzes, Pont du Garde, St. Remy de Provence and Les Beaux. We have been going to this area for 15 years for business and this hotel does not disappoint. It may appear a little rustic to some, but the charm is great.
4 out of 5
by philippe from Lyon

Séjour en couple

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avons passons quelques jours dans cet établissement que nous connaissions déjà. Peu de surprise, cadre très agréable, chambre de l'annexe datant, celles restaurées froides mais très fonctionnelles. Le service est inégal avec des personnes très compétentes et professionnelles et d'autres moins. Peu de services à la piscine, quel dommage! Dans cet espace il y a un décalage entre la quiétude du lieu et les désagréments que peuvent causer des jeunes et moins jeunes qui plongent font des bombes sans intervention du personnel. L'amusement des uns ne peut venir empiéter sur le bien être des autres (très majoritaire lors de notre séjour).Petit déjeuner très bon, mais quelle épopée pour prendre un verre sur la terrasse! Je terminerai par le vrai plus de notre séjour, un service voiturier d'une efficacité et d'une courtoisie remarquables.
4 out of 5
by Stina from Stockholm

Underbart hotell med dåligt wifi

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotellet var väldigt fint och lyxigt. Rummet var fint och bra med A/C. Poolområdet mysigt med vacker utsikt. Hela hotellet var inrett i en minimalistisk lite skandinavisk stil och det var fint uppbyggt runt gamla byggnader och ruiner. De hade bevarat charmen i den gamla byn. Servicen var också toppklass! Restaurangen var riktigt bra i toppklass, dyrt men värt upplevelsen. Stort minus för att Wi-fi fungerade extremt dåligt. Vi fick bara uppkoppling i receptionen och på rummet fungerade det inte alls. Det är det enda minuset men det drar tyvärr ned betyget och upplevelsen.
5 out of 5
by Fredrik from Stockholm

Great place to be

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay and great food