Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not ignore negative reviews of this hotel!

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted to be close to Jotuneheimen National Park so I ignored the poor reviews of this hotel. Don't make my mistake. It's a dirty, 2 star hotel at 4 star prices! When I checked in, I was surprised at how spartan the room was - it looked like a very low end dorm room. It only had a twin bed. Once I started to look around, I noticed the floor wasn't clean so I looked around more. And, found there was a bright red smear of blood on the bathroom door frame!! I went downstairs to the front desk to tell them. They were flustered as we walked back upstairs and he said that they had new cleaning staff. They asked me to wait for 30 min while they cleaned, I said I'd come back after dinner. When I went back, some of it was still there. Seriously? So, I walked back downstairs told them and asked for a different room. The only one they had was one across the hall that was a worse layout as the window opened onto a outdoor common area/smoking area. But I moved anyway. They refused to compensate me for the room - only giving me $50 off. Do not stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel with vintage interior and friendly staf

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Room was spacious and clean, wifi was strong, bed was comfortable. Buffet breakfast had a wide selection and was delicious!
Easy to find, good location, very friendly staff, has a lounge with free coffe/tea and superb music. Really enjoyed my stay here. Loved that the corridors are filled with art exhibits like photos and old vintage stuff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful, relaxing stay.
2 out of 5
by Lawrence from San Francisco

Tolerable in a Pinch

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
I wanted to stay in Lom, but couldn't find a room, so ended up in Vågå, at this place. It's kind of beat up and threadbare, with ground-in grime in places like the bathroom grout and toilet flush handle that no amount of scrubbing will ever get rid of. Scratchy towels that probably should have been replaced years ago. On several levels with no elevators. Worst breakfast I had in two weeks in Sweden and Norway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant overnicht stop

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Touring Norway and this hotel was on the route. It is in the centre of the small town and is nicely located. It does have two floors and no lifts (elevators)so we did have to carry suitcases quite a distance. The dinner, a buffet when we were there, was very good. We did not make use of the facilities available so I cannot comment on those. Breakfast was also satisfactory so overall it was a very good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2015
stayed there for 1 night. the room wasn't new.. not so clean and the facilities were almost to old.
3 out of 5
by Ronald

Vaga - good and bad

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location and conveniently accessed, but it is very old. It looks as if it has not been renovated in a few decades - the furniture, the ambiance, even the keys look ancient. A major renovation is needed to bring it up to speed, but otherwise, it is clean and quite, and convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a short stay. Lots of steps (no elevator)

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Good Breakfast! We wanted to change from a three single beds in one room to two rooms and the staff was very accommodating.
The hotel is a bit dated. The beds were not very comfortable. There were many stairs and half floors. However, the staff were accomodating and kind. There was an evening meal we could have had if we wanted - without reservations. There was a good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for overnight stop

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Staff were helpful and spoke reasonable English. Room was basic, but clean. Food was edible, breakfast was the usual affair. Ok for one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2012 on Hotels