Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Family hotel near skiing

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: It appears that this hotel used to have a central courtyard that has now been enclosed, that was neat.
Cons: The pull out bed was horrible, worst bed ever. The toilet had several issues, first it ran, then it broke!
Location: Good location for both skiing and hiking.
Although the hotel had many things to like, quite a few activities for the kids and a couple of restaurant choices, it was a bit dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello Carol, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you found the sofa sleeper uncomfortable. I also apologize that you experienced issues with the toilet. Was maintenance called for assistance? We are in the process of a renovation, hopefully you will be back to enjoy the updates.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Problematic Cancellation Policy

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: poor quality, fire safety issues, non-accessible elevator that leads to stairs, bad cancellation policy - We liked nothing.
Cons: the building does not meet fire code standards as the building is not fully sprinkled. Fire doors were blocked open by staff.
Location: Skiing at Beaver Creek
Purchased 1 night on line. When we arrived, I added 1 additional night and paid a 25% premium for paying in person. Bad weather, poor building quality, fire safety issues made us decide to stay elsewhere the next night, but hotel has 14 day cancellation policy, even when the room was ordered and paid for 14 hours prior. Refused to refund payment even though cancelled prior to checkout. Manager refused to meet and discuss. The cart for the luggage has to to be hand carried down a half flight of stairs due to the way the building was renovated. Not accessible for seniors or wheel chair individuals. The fire doors were blocked open, non-sprinkled rooms, confusing exits. Not a fire safe facility. Would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HoustonTX

Beautiful and comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Our stay was amazing. The room was perfect, clean, inviting and very comfortable for our invited guest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello Brandit, Thank you very much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Large room, old, not in proper working condition.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Hotel is a maze. There are no numbers to help you find your room in this hodge-podge place. I think because I paid less through Expedia they gave me the oldest farthest room that was not improper working condition. Toilets didn't flush, no water pressure, and sink didn't drain. Housekeeping was MIA, wouldn't even take dirty towels from our room after 3 days!! The hospitality was 3rd class or non existent. I was even asked about my stay at checkout. They just took my keys and said "anything else". Really?? Who trains these people? Waste of our money!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you were disappointed during your visit to the Christie Lodge. I understand how frustrating it can be to arrive to your destination after extensive travel and having a hard time finding your accommodation. We are in the process of redesigning the signage around our property to better serve our guests. We are also reviewing our late night arrival procedure, so our 24 hour front desk is able to provide more assistance with guests getting to their rooms. We do care greatly about the guest experience and I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is AVerage

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel has a shuttle to Beaver Creek. The pool and hot tub were very nice.
Cons: Update and renovate the rooms. The rooms are very small and the sliding glass door in the livingroom leaks alot of cold air into the room.
We had booked a room several weeks in advance. At the last minute we had to arrange to arrive a day early. Although the hotel did accommodate us, they charged us 3 times the nightly rate. We felt this was highway robbery. The rooms are clean, very small, and need major updating. The bedroom has a window to the hallwlay and you hear people coming and going all night long. The hot tub and pool were clean and neat, the television service is very limited to local channels. The front desk staff is not very friendly or helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking a moment to review us. We appreciate your comments and will strive to utilize them for continued improvements at The Christie Lodge. I apologize that you had concerns with the sliding glass door and the front desk staff. I will make sure to follow up with management as this does not meet our standards. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms. Hopefully you will be back to enjoy one in the future. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great place to stay near Beaver Creek

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Will definitely be staying here again. Better than a motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loveland, CO

Reasonable place to stay in Vail valley

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Condos fully outfitted to cook simple meal.
Cons: Update the atrium. Looks dated.
These are older condos just off I-70 at Avon. Our room was recently remodeled and nice. A little cramped in bedroom. Sofa sleeper was next to sliding door and a little cold in the room with only one blanket provided. Single burner stove top, bar sink, microwave and dishwasher with pans, plates and utensils provided. Could cook basic stuff. Bus stop at the property to take you to Beaver Creek. About 3 blocks or short bus ride to Vail bus. Game room, pool and hot tub inside the atrium, but closed at 9:00. After dining out, no opportunity to use them. Atrium area looks straight out of the '80 or 90's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello Lee, Thank you for taking a moment to write this review. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of some of the properties amenities. Next time you visit I hope you are able to use the hot tubs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Perfect location for activites, dining, and shoppi

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Walking distance for shopping, dining and activites. Vail and brench Ridge very close. Loved the hotel. Full kitchen was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello Ruth, Thank you very much for the nice review! We look forward to hosting you again soon. Great picture!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dishonest booking practice

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I booked and paid for a room with this hotel online. When I arrived I was told I had to produce my credit card which is standard, but what is not standard is that I was told they were putting a mandatory $100 hold fee on my credit card. Nowhere on their website does it mention this and as of today, 3 days later, the charge is still on my card. I will never stay here again. Their are other hotels that do not employ this deceptive practice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by LM, Hotel Management
Hello, I am sorry that you feel we have been dishonest about our incidental charge. This charge information is listed in the terms and conditions which guests are required agree to when booking. It is also listed on the email confirmations when booking direct. Returning the funds does typically take 3-5 business days. If you still have not received it you will need to check with your bank. We hope that you will reconsider your decision for a future visit.
5 out of 5
by Anita

Ski trip

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
we had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anita, Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to hosting you again soon! LM