Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO

Convenient basic lodging in Vail!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location and convenience. Price and affordability.
Cons: See above.
Location: Skiing, boarding, hiking, fishing, etc.
I was mostly pleased by my recent stay at the Evergreen. However, there was a problem with the shower. The shower head was clogged with hard water deposits and the scald valve was also plugged resulting in less than hot water. One of my daily loves is a nice hot shower to relax from the days activities. I didn't get that here. Another thing you should know is that (at least in my room) they don't provide microwave ovens. So, don't count on having that midnight popcorn run unless you bring your own. Likewise forget the hot bagel in the morning unless you go down to the free breakfast and eat down there. Just a couple small knocks but for a place over a hundred a night, you'd think they would have these addressed already.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alan K., Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Great shopping a short walk from hotel.
Has some of the nicest and most helpful front desk staff. Was in great location and room was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alan K., Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your kind review. We try our best to help our guests and maintain a positive and professional attitude. Take care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

great hotel for after surgery!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Received a knee surgery at VVMC this week. Closest hotel to the surgery center. Very understanding and helpful in terms of accessibility limitations and even changed rooms to be closest to the elevator. Will continue to stay at this lodge in future summers as it is hard to beat their off-season prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alan K. Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hey there, I'm glad you had a positive experience staying with us. We try very hard to accommodate hospital patients as they have unique needs to other travelers. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from centennial co

Great budget hotel in vail

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Have stayed at the evergreen a few times now. First time with my family. Pool and bar were great. Enjoyed watching college and NFL football there. Hotel is a five minute walk from the bus. Room was nice. Will definitely stay there again. Evergreen is one of few places left in vail for middle class families to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alan K. Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and the Altitude sports bar and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks so much for your review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Price was reasonable for Vail . . stayed in Sept. Room was clean and good sized with 2 queen beds. No a/c, so kept window partially open at nights . . highway noise was disturbing. Conveniently located to walk Vail Village and Lions Head Village, or take the shuttle. Included a free continental breakfast. Towels and sheets need to be replaced . . clean but thin and worn from use. Tub/shower was a little narrow. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Alan K. Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for taking the time to carefully review our hotel. I can't argue with what you've said here. All I'll mention is that the highway situation is the same with a majority of hotels here in Vail. We live in a narrow valley and there will always be a mountain side a and a valley (highway) side. If there are rooms available, there is always the option to upgrade to the side of the hotel that doesn't face the highway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
A nice hotel. Nice little sports bar in the hotel that serves foods and pizza. Close to the shops and restaurants downtown. Out room had no working a.c. but had a large box fan that helped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by -Alan K, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for reviewing your stay. We're very glad you enjoyed our hotel and its amenities. We're very happy to have 2 restaurants on site and to be within short walking distance to everything else in town. Not having air-conditioning in the hotel is very common in Vail and other mountain communities. For several hours a day for a small part of the summer, it can get fairly hot. Most of our guests do find that opening a window and running a fan is sufficient to be comfortable during the hottest part of the afternoon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unfriendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: location
When we arrived, the front desk lady was less than interested in helping us. I called later that night to front desk from the room, & the phone rang for a solid 3 minutes before I hung up and went downstairs to talk to someone in person. Night front desk clerk was on her cell phone! I stated that our room was hot and she said there's no A/C but a fan in room closet. When I investigated, the window opens up, which gave us a nice breeze....would have been nice of her to tell us that. Rooms are old and need updating. Good location to village and shuttle stops. I guess you get what you pay for
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Alan K. Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks so much for your honest feedback. I'm so sorry you had a negative experience with one of our front desk agents. I'll make a point to review some of the basics of hospitality with everyone like not using cell phones and offering suggestions sometimes without being asked. We do appreciate your patronage and understand that your reception to our property is paramount. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future whenever you find yourself next in Vail. We are an older property and we pride ourselves on Location, Value, and Comfort. Take care and see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Medium Value and Quality Vail Lodge

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and quiet room.
Cons: WiFi in my room was so weak that I could not really use it. Available parking for guests was barely adequate.
Location: This lodge was a long walking distance from shopping, food, and from ski slopes. It was next door to a hospital and a US Bank branch.
This hotel property was as described before booking. Room and bed were quite clean and comfortable. I was surprised to see a large dog led out of a guest room on my floor. Not much value for added resort fee. I did not have time to try restaurants at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Good enough

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Ok, overpriced I thought based on facility. Kinda old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Air conditoning
Perfect location between Vail Village and Lionshead, probably great for winter. But it is showing its age, and Vail being Vail, I would expect it to be scrapped and re-done within 2-3 years.