Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to shops

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Nice bathrooms great location beautiful grounds. Nice staff
Cons: Bed mattress and especially the pillows.
Location: Shopping restaurants in heart if vail village. No car needed.
Really nice hotel and furnishings. Great rooms with pleasant view. Juliet balcony to open for fresh air. Brought cookie and ice water to rooms in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vail, CO

Forced Middle of Night Wake Up

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We are local Vail home owners that due to family visiting required extra sleeping capacity, so we booked ourselves in Sonnenalp based on Expedia recommendations. We arrived very late for our guaranteed late arrival reservation, but were awakened in middle of night by a previously set alarm clock. The room was pitch black and we couldn't locate the off switch, so I moved table next to the bed, located and unplugged the clock. The clock then began beeping until I finally placed it outside the door in the hallway. By then, however, we were fully awake and couldn't fall back asleep. The desk manager's response when I responded to, "How was everything?" was, "Sorry, I'll report it to housekeeping." I was happy to pay the Sonnenalp rate, but was very disappointed with not getting a good night's sleep for the cost and with the manager's response or lack of response. Thank you, JMS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Disappointing in most ways

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: It was across the street from the chapel where our friends were getting married.
Cons: Everything needs attention. The sole high point is that the front desk staff were very pleasant. Not helpful, but pleasant.
I reserved and paid in advance for a room through Expedia for a king bed. We were told when we got there that only a room with double beds was available and we were given keys to 101. Facing the street wasn't really very appealing, and I do understand that someone has to stay in 101, but I wasn't happy. The beds were lumpy, the air conditioner made an incredible amount of noise, the cabinet with the television would continually swing closed, and there were almost no open outlets to charge things. We stayed at a Doubletree in Denver the next night for less than half the price, and it was a far nicer room and accommodations. Coffee the next morning was not indicated, but I found a table in the foyer with some empty canisters on it. When we checked out, the front desk said she'd call the valet, and eventually we had to ask them if they planned to get our cars because we'd watched them fetch 7 other cars for people who checked out after us. The least enjoyable hotel stay on a vacation that I've had since a terrible hotel in 1986.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

Great hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Great location, great facility, great staff service
Cons: Microwave in the room
Location: Right in Vail Village, all sorts of stuff to do, and backs up to the creek! Great location and ambiance.
I booked the hotel through Expedia's Mystery Hotel "unpublished rates" to get great rates on 4-star hotels. My reservation was for 3 adults, but was not able to confirm # of beds due to the "Mystery Hotel" mechanism in Expedia... Finally, when I got the confirmation that Sonnenalp was the one, I called to confirm that everyone has a bed. Unfortunately, with 3 adults, we were put into a room with a single King Bed. No way 3 people in a single bed. The hotel upgraded us to Junior Suite with 2 double beds no question asked! Can't be happier! Great room, great service, and great facility!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Loved the room, restaurant, and wait staff. The bar ambiance was the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort in the heart of Vail Village

Posted Jul 3, 2015
This was a last minute decision to take a much needed vacation. I have stayed at the Sonnenalp many times in the past and I'm never disappointed. The suite was comfortable and spacious. The staff is wonderful!! The Sonnenalp has the best spa in Vail..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Highlands Ranch,Co

Nice European style Hotel and close to stores

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was very kind and hotel design was nice.
Cons: When I back to hotel at midnight no one shows up.(valet parking and front desk)
Location: great location!!
We stayed during the Memorial weekend.Hotel was so nice and I felt I am in Swiss. I enjoyed gown and slipper that they were provided. Restaurants and shops are very close. I bought nice ski vest and shirt on 50% sale and food price was also downed. I strongly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dale from Pittsboro, NC

Sonnenalp

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
This is a true luxury hotel in Vail. The rooms, amenities, and services are all first class. We stayed between seasons so the room rate was steeply discounted which made it a great value. The food in the bar restaurant was very good, well prepared and reasonably priced. Be aware that you more or less have to take the valet parking option unless you want to walk back several blocks and there is a fee for Wi-Fi access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from southern england

High standard, well run hotel.

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable and professionally run hotel. 2 night stay, one of the smaller suites fronting the pedestrianized part of town, but totally adequate. Central location, convenient access off I-70, valet parking only, good choice of restaurants within the hotel. Would definitely stay again.